We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Where You'd Like to Return to After a Long Day.!”
Review of Aarangi Tui Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aarangi Tui Motel
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Stayed 3 days in this motel and it’s absolutely comfortable and lovely.!
We’ve booked the Studio suite and its very spacious.! Big kitchen space and large fridge with one packet of free milk provided. Shower is an absolute comfort, very clean and good water pressure with hot water as well.
Wifi is good and SKY cable channels to keep us entertained since shops closes early during winter.
There is also an outdoor balcony with BBQ pit but we didn’t utilize it.

The care-taker of the motel lives at the ground level and she’s very helpful.
Previously we’ve booked the accommodation online and there’s a breakfast option included. However upon arrival, we double-checked with the care-taker where to collect our breakfast from but we were told breakfast is not provided.
She contacted the host immediately and we got our refund for breakfast, very helpful and efficient.
*Host mentioned she used to provide breakfast but no longer caters anymore.

Motel is located just 6-10mins walk from the wharf and there’s lotsa cafes and convenient stores (Countdown / 4 square) along the main stretch of road.

All in all, A home away from home.!
Probably the only downside is the heater is alil small for the unit, hence it gets chilly at night especially during winter. But they make up for it by providing lotsa thick blankets in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yEeVoNy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2017

Very reasonable accomodation for Paihia and easy walking distance to the township where there plenty of cafes and access to launch trips etc. Units perhaps a little worn but everything is clean and tidy. Certainly the price makes for a more reasonable stay. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElvisInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Although we booked a studio we ended up with a two bedroom unit. It was very spacious and comfortable and had excellent kitchen facilities.

The location is very convenient and the hosts are very welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val_Mansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochine, Manager at Aarangi Tui Motel, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello,

We are happy to upgrade where possible, especially in the quieter months. Great to hear to enjoyed your stay with us, please come again.

Kind regards,

Rochine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

This motel is located two blocks from the main street and wharf in Paihia, easy walking distance to restaurants, stores (including two grocery stores), and the starting point for many excursions. The motel is basic and shows a little wear, but it is clean, comfortable, and well maintained by friendly and helpful owners. You might want to pay a little extra and request Room 6 that has a separate living area, is disconnected from other rooms, and with easy parking. The motel doesn’t have air conditioning (fan) or central heat (space heater), but this isn’t a major issue given the local year round climate. In a tourist area with relatively high prices, the Aarangi Tui Motel is a real find and worth of consideration, why unnecessarily pay more?

Room Tip: Consider paying a little more for Room 6 with a separate living area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WisconsinMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

I am absolutely appalled, me & my partner were planning a nice weekend away in Paihia my partner contacted this place & spoke with a woman she said she wool call us back in which she did...everything was fine up until she asked for my partners email address which includes the name "dubess" in it which is a family name she saw the name and automatically assumed it said "DOOBIES" referring to a way of smoking illegal drugs, she then began to tell my partner that she didn't want any "doobies" around here & that she thinks we shouldn't be staying there. How rude and how dare you not only is that rude and what I call poor service it is HIGHLY OFFENSIVE!! not happy at all. I hope from this point nobody books with you guys, very disappointed & upset as now we don't even want to go away due to this. Thanks for nothing - One very angry & unsatisfied customer...

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kaylah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochine, Owner at Aarangi Tui Motel, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

I'm sorry you had a bad experience, however your review is not as the phone conversation happened. We run a family motel, and have one ourselves. Perhaps you should consider changing your email address to avoid further issues.

Thank you,

Rochine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 km away
Absolute Bliss Apartments
0.6 km away
Bay Sands Seafront Studios
0.2 km away
Ala-Moana Motel
Ala-Moana Motel
#25 of 43 in Paihia
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Marlin Court Motel
Marlin Court Motel
#33 of 43 in Paihia
88 reviews
0.3 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
638 reviews
1.0 km away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Paihia

Been to Aarangi Tui Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aarangi Tui Motel

Address: 16 Williams Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range: $100 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aarangi Tui Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aarangi Tui Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing