We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanctuary Palms
Nearby Hotels
US$139
US$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$69/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$138
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$110
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edelweiss Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
42
9
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
9
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousemoulin rouge apartmentamazing weekendbath saltslarge apartmenton arrivalsmall balconyrelaxing holidayour night staytwo nightsthe kitchenrayhelenhostrepairviewsaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017

On arrival we were greeted by our host Ray who was exceptionally kind and helped us book all of our activities and recommend great places to eat. Our room had breathtaking ocean views among quiet and private native bush area and the character and decor of this place was absolutely phenomenal. my only negative was that we couldn't stay longer!

Thank you once again Ray for your hospitality, we will recommend Sanctuary Palms to all our friends and be back in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeenKiwiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

I booked Santuary Palms as a Birthday present for my partner. We stayed for 4 nights from the 18 to 22 August 2017. The advertising of the property as a retreat and place of beauty and tranquillity attracted us. When we arrived we initially thought that we had the wrong address, because builders vehicles blocked the entrance and the entire property was undergoing major renovations. We were the only guests and shown to a suite that was not the one we booked. The waterfall was out of action and the entire place a building site. The wifi was disconnected and the apartment wasn't serviced as promised. In fact, we saw no other person on the property from Saturday afternoon to Tuesday when we left, and the office was closed the entire time. When talking to the owner he was rude and aggressive and offered absolutely no apology.
In the apartment there were numerous maintenance issues. Some of them (e.g. the mixer for the tub was not attached, the plumbing under the sink was leaking and the coffee was so old that it didn't come out the packet) we raised with the owner, who simply dismissed them as normal maintenance issues for which no apology was needed. We will definitely not recommend to stay in this property!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mrposh2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
31Bayview, Owner at Sanctuary Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Sorry you have felt that way. It would have been good if you had relayed your feelings to us at the time of your stay
On your arrival we discussed with you what was happening and that the builders were packing up and not coming back until your departure. Nothing affected the Suite that you were allocated as the builders had been working on the other side of Sanctuary Palms.

We upgraded your accommodation to the Pacifika Suite for this inconvenience. I tried to spend time with you as we do with all new arrivals recommending good restaurants, attractions, supermarkets etc and was told promptly by yourself that you were not interested and would sort it out yourselves, and dismissed me. We showed you around your serviced apartment and explained how everything works plus discussed our service that the girls do not enter your room unless you put the Service Sign on our door. This sign was not put out at all during your stay. This is quite common for us as a good proportion of our guests do not want to be disturbed.

Maintenance Issues: Your main maintenance issue was a screw coming loose from the mixer in the Spa Bath. This was not stopping you using the bath and would have taken a few minutes to fix however you would not let me into your room to address this. Yes your Wifi went down after an electrical storm and being in the weekend we had to wait until Monday to order a new Modem from Auckland. This arrived the day you departed.
The office was open part time, considering we only have 4 apartments in the complex, but there was a free phone outside the office that would give you direct access to the Manager 24/7, which by the way you did use several times.

All your other comments we do not agree with and we did make contact with you on a daily basis and discussed was everything OK and that we like happy guests. We did suggest that if you were not happy then we would refund your accommodation but your partner assured us that everything was good and shook my hand.
I believe no matter what we did you would not have been happy. We have recently been awarded from Trip Advisor a Certificate of Excellence for service to our guests, and from what you have said that I was rude and aggressive I am sure that other guests would not have voted for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

My partner and I had the most wonderful experience with Santuary Palms. Ray and Helen were so incredibly accomodating, as the weekend we were meant to go away, my nana passed away unexpectidly. There were no questions asked, and my reservation was easily moved to a few months later. When we arrived, Ray and Helen met us, gave us a tour, and told us all about the area, and great spots to visit. A cold bottle of complementary wine was waiting for us in the fridge, and the suite we booked was in immaculate condition. The two night stay was devine- everything we needed was avaiable, and Ray and Helen were around for any questions we had. We cannot wait to go back! Thank you Helen and Ray.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sarahkelly45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Moulin Rouge apartment which is one level below the penthouse facing the bay. Great design of apartment with excellent views from the small balcony but is lacking attention to detail.
As noted by others, we found quite a few inside cobwebs as well as the inhabitants, and damaged wallpaper with amateurish plaster repairs.
We couldn't find any reference to a non-smoking policy and as a result had smoke drifting down from the upstairs penthouse apartment, which forced us to close our doors which wasn't ideal.
The fountain and bird bath which runs down the side of the building is pretty cool but we were surprised at the lack of bird life ... only one lone fantail.
Location is a short walk from the town and ferry to Russell, and very quiet apart from upstairs apartment noise. The larger, more expensive penthouse would be a better option.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank PatchNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We are not sure that words can describe such a place at an appropriate level. Please remember that reviews by people are only as good as the people writing them, and as such we question as to whether we are worthy.

Having said that, the place is brilliant, the attitude of Ray and Helen is refreshing and no where that we have ever stayed is 100% perfect, but then nowhere is.This is as close as it gets. Believe us, and we are well qualified to pass comment having stayed over the years at some remarkable places.

Hats off to the location, attitude and comforts of a lovely home away from home :)

Room Tip: Try the Penthouse
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank koobecaf2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
31Bayview, Manager at Sanctuary Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Hi
Thank you for your wise & kind words. We love meeting people and try to give them the best time ever in the Bay of Islands. A review like yours is very humbling so once again thank you so much. Would love to see you again in the near future.

Regards
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews