We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Viv

Relaxing beautiful well located apartment

Review of Absolute Bliss
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Apr 2024via mobile
We found our stay here so relaxing and the best accommodation and location of our trip, it was absolute bliss. Beautiful well equipped comfortable apartment in a great location with a view of Paihia and the bay. Marilyn was very friendly and gave us tips on what to do locally and helped us book the Hole in the Rock Cruise. Whilst it was a steep walk or drive to the house, the internal lift to the apartments made it easy to get luggage from the car to the apartment.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Waterfront Suite
Booking.com
$176
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $176
  • Expedia.com
    $176
  • Hotels.com
    $176
0.6 km from Absolute Bliss
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$129
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $122
  • Agoda.com
    $108
  • Expedia.com
    $124
0.6 km from Absolute Bliss
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance of Motel.Very close to Waterfront
Booking.com
$116
  • Expedia.com
    $112
  • Hotels.com
    $112
  • Agoda.com
    $113
0.5 km from Absolute Bliss
Free Wifi
Free parking
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Booking.com
$167
  • Priceline
    $167
  • Agoda.com
    $145
  • Expedia.com
    $167
0.7 km from Absolute Bliss
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$140
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $140
  • Agoda.com
    $123
  • Priceline
    $140
0.7 km from Absolute Bliss
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$132
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $155
  • Priceline
    $132
  • Hotels.com
    $155
0.7 km from Absolute Bliss
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$412
  • Expedia.com
    $412
  • Hotels.com
    $412
  • Priceline
    $412
1.0 km from Absolute Bliss
Free Wifi
Free parking
Heated pool - all year!
Booking.com
$96
  • Priceline
    $96
  • Agoda.com
    $106
  • Vio.com
    $96
0.8 km from Absolute Bliss
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$105
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $67
  • Agoda.com
    $63
  • Expedia.com
    $94
1.0 km from Absolute Bliss
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $161
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Absolute Bliss
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Paihia
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
63
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
63
6
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2024

Our stay at Absolute Bliss was superb. Our fully furnished studio apartment like unit had all of the amenities, such a a small, fully equipped kitchen area, comfortable furniture, a very nice bathroom, and surprises such as luxurious bathrobes. We even had access to a laundry machine which along with the laundry detergent were free of charge to use. By being located at the top of a steep driveway, we enjoyed a beautiful, calming, and unobstructed view of the Bay of Islands and the town of Paihia below. Our unit opened onto a deck equipped with everything one would need to eat outdoors or to just relax. Indoors, we found our bed to be very comfortable, and our room was quiet, so we slept well. An exceptional feature of Absolute Bliss is that there is an elevator/lift, so even senior citizens such as ourselves, and individuals with disabilities can access the unit - which itself is level. However, be advised that anyone with disabilities must have a car to drive to the top of the driveway where the main entrance and elevator/lift are located. The driveway is too steep for those who can't hike up from Joyce's Road. Parking is available near the top of the driveway, not far from the entrance. Having a kitchen with a refrigerator and microwave oven gave us the welcome option of dining in when we preferred. There was a Four Square grocery within easy walking distance and right by Four Square is the Paihia Bakery, so it was easy to purchase sweets or savory pies there to go with our fresh fruit and yogurt from Four Square for an easy breakfast and/or lunch. Being on vacation it was nice being able to eat in without having to actually cook. The extremely gracious owner of Absolute Bliss is both generous and kind. She did everything possible to make us feel welcome, and made herself available whenever we had any questions. As a long time resident of Paihia she was an extraordinary resource - going out of her way to assist us when my spouse suffered a sprained ankle. She even got as a table on short notice at "Terra", the best restaurant in Paihia. Our dinner there was truly special. You can not do better than Absolute Bliss.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2023 via mobile

We wanted to end our two week holiday in New Zealand with 4 days in Paihia. We chose Absolute Bliss Apartments because they sounded luxurious, and we weren't disappointed. First of all, Marilyn greeted us on arrival and is an absolute gem. She is kind-hearted, helpful, and sincere, making us feel so welcome. The two fully self-contained apartments sit on the side of a hill, providing a magnificent view of Paihia. The apartments are super spacious, and Marilyn keeps them in immaculate condition. The large balconies and outdoor seating allow you to enjoy the view and serenity of the area on a warm night. Being on a hill means accessing the property via a driveway that may at first appear a little challenging, however the oasis that awaits you is well worth the effort. Parking is available at the top, and a beautiful lift allows you to transport luggage up to the second floor. If you choose to walk up and down the driveway each day as we did, it gets easier with each trip and we gained the bonus of getting to know extra leg muscles we hadn't used in years. The main street in town is right in front of the driveway, and you can enjoy a meal at a nearby restaurant or at the water's edge within minutes. Thanks to Marilyn sharing her home with us, our memories of this holiday will be something we will always treasure. We can't wait to return.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2022

We (a group of 3 friends) stayed here for 4 nights. Warm welcome. First class accommodation. The views from the terrace are lovely and only 5 mins walk to the restaurants and pier. A word of caution - steep drive but with lots of room to park and turn at the top.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank annemaree59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2020

We could only stay one night this time, but everything was exceptionally delightful from the moment we met our friendly host. The apartment had everything we required plus all the extra touches to make it a real special romantic get away.. top quality place to stay and lovely easy to walk to and from dining around paihia. Thank you again Marilyn.

Date of stay: May 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Amyculley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2020

After negotiating the rather steep drive we received a lovely warm welcome from the owner, Marilyn. Our apartment was clean, spacious, comfortable and well equipped. We particularly enjoyed the spacious deck with a good view over Paihia towards Russell.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rnickr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews