We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$157
Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Jill P
Hervey Bay, Australia

Close to everything !

Review of Outrigger Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Feb 2024
This cosy place is right in the heart of everything, shops, bars, ferry terminal & the Swordfish club! We walked to everything & left the car. Great kitchen & veranda for our afternoon drinks. Lovely staff, room was cleaned daily. Highly recommended !
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $120
0.2 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$125
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $125
0.2 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$150
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $150
0.3 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $165
0.6 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Tripadvisor
$228
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$139
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.1 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from Lounge
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $161
  • eDreams
0.2 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Waterfront Suite
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $282
  • Vio.com
0.3 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $129
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Paihia
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
209
64
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
209
64
7
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2023

Rooms were reasonably clean although we found items under the bed left from previous occupants. Room with double bed and single bed was adequate; double bed filled width of the room so nowhere to move and no ventilation. We were there just as cyclone gabrielle was coming so for safety reasons had to leave two nights earlier than planned. Motel were absolutely unhelpful or friendly when asked to meet us halfway as we had already paid four 4 nights and only stayed 2. We thus ended up unexpectedly having to pay for another 2 nights in the middle of the north island. There was no compassion shown, they weren't even willing to refund one of the 2 nights not used.

Room tip: Stay elsewhere
Date of stay: February 2023
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank russellandmeredithb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2020

Excellent for a budget stay close to the waterfront area. Plenty of shops and restaurants very close. Some parts of the motel are older. Everything you need is there. As a group of two couples we took two studio rooms overlooking the road. There was a deck area with a large table and umbrella which was perfect for meals. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BellaG9711HQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2020

A basic but clean and tidy motel with friendly and knowledgeable staff. Supermarkets, shops and activities are all very close. There was a few issues with the WiFi dropping out, and there is only a few SKY channels, but all in all I would stay again.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Loren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yang Z, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2020

Thank you for your review, we hope you had a wonderful time in the Bay Of Islands, have a great New Year 2020. Regards Yang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2019

Last minute decision to book only thing left was outrigger hotel Awesome hosts reasonable rate clean tidy very central Right opposite the wharf close to shops bars wharf etc Hosts very welcoming and while room was basic it was only one night and all we needed We would certainly use again

Room tip: We stayed upstairs at the back Access was ok and help was offered but not needed to get luggage to our room
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yang Z, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2019

Thank you for your review, we hope you had a great time in Bay Of Islands, look forward to seeing you in the early future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2019

We had a very quiet unit at the back of the site which was clean and comfortable. However we were a bit disturbed by a noisy celebration one night from a party which we believe was connected to the owner which didn't go on till late, but the owner went out of her way to apologise the next day which was really appreciated. Whilst we were provided with helpful information at check in, there was a communication difficulty when we asked where the nearest pharmacy was, to be told it was in Keri-Keri, despite it being only a few hundred yards down the road! Overall, however, we would recommend this accommodation as it is good value for money.

Room tip: Choose a room at the back
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BXW05
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yang Z, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2019

Thanks for your review, sorry again for the noise had been made during your stay with us, we hope you had a wonderful time in Bay Of Islands. Regards Yang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews