We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Maioha
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany

A very good location but the motel is looking "tired"

Review of Outrigger Motel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Feb 2019
We stayed here three years ago and chose to stay there again because of its excellent location but the motel is now looking "tired" and we would look elsewhere next time. The ownership had also changed from a very friendly New Zealand family to an efficient but absolutely no sense of humour Asian family, which is a second reason that we would look elsewhere next time.
Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yang Z, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review
Responded 27 Feb 2019
Hello Maioha, thanks for your review, we could not find any booking under this name as maybe you use a differ name, I feel really sorry that my hospitality did not meet your expectation, we hope you had a great time in the Bay Of Islands. Regard Yang
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Waterfront Suite
$183
  • Expedia.com
    $188
  • Agoda.com
    $162
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from Lounge
$105
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $85
  • Expedia.com
    $111
0.2 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance of Motel.Very close to Waterfront
$121
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $114
  • Hotels.com
    $121
0.2 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
$261
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $225
  • Expedia.com
    $261
0.5 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$129
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $107
  • ZenHotels.com
0.5 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$132
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $155
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $155
0.6 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$145
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $127
  • Agoda.com
    $120
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$145
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $145
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $145
0.2 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$145
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $145
  • Agoda.com
    $127
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Heated pool - all year!
$113
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $110
  • ZenHotels.com
0.7 km from Outrigger Motel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Paihia
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
209
64
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
209
64
7
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2019

We had a good three day stay here in January. The motel is extremely well located, very clean and comfortable. The staff are very welcoming. My youngest teen was sick while we were there and the owner was very concerned. The laundry facilities are terrific and well priced. I was concerned that there was no air conditioning but the overhead fans kept it very comfortable. So very quiet at night. I would happily stay again.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ExSwissMIss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yang Z, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2019

Thank you very much for your kindly review, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Paihia, best wishes to all of you and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Regard Yang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2019

We stayed with Yang at her lovely motel in January 2018. We were allocated 3 rooms with road frontage, which made it quite private from the rest of the motel but also added interest in terms of the passing foot traffic.

The rooms were very tidy and clean. Also they were within walking distance of the best pubs and restaurants and shopping facilities that Paihia has to offer, whilst being located on a quieter street.

Yang was the perfect host and we appreciated the fact that she went the extra mile for us on a number of things.

Good luck to her, her family and her staff as they certainly exceeded our expectations.

Room tip: Pick the ones closest to the roadside
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stevecpnz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yang Z, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2019

Thank you very much for your kindly review, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Paihia, we wish you a great 2019, and look forward to seeing you again. Regard Yang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2019 via mobile

The staff were very accommodating and went out of their way to make sure our room was ready for us. Offered us information brochures and checked we knew our way around the area. Overall very friendly staff and a family approach. Room was tidy and had everything we needed, also had a complimentary bottle of milk which was handy on arrival! Would stay again :)

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hannahgee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yang Z, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2019

Thank you very much for your kindly review, we hope you had a great time in Bay Of Islands, we look forward to seeing you in the future. Regard Yang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2019

Budget accommodation can be good but Outrigger Paihia is kind of average and poor value given the cost. Room very budget : bed and sofa uncomfortable and fittings cheap. Location good - close to shops and beaches. Web site says "Breakfast available on request" but on arrival they said they wouldn't do it for us. Parking very cramped.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bruceoz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yang Z, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Thanks for your review, we do have continental breakfast available for $12 per person, but the reason I have suggested you buy from the bakery shop because they are more professional in cooking with cheaper price, and they just 50 metres away from us. Sorry for the troubles. Hope you had a great time in Bay Of Islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2018

We stayed here for 2N. Yang is a fantastic host, she gave us a very warm welcome to her motel. We were booked the base catagory of room in the motel, but that turned out the highlight of the stay. The room was full of wooden feel and small but had everything that one should require during the stay. The motel is 2 mins walk from the main market. It has free parking facilities on first cum first basis. Over all a fantastic stay and would highly recommend once in paihia.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohitraitani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yang Z, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Thank you for your kindly review Mohit, glad to have you here in Paihia, we hope you had a great time in Bay Of Islands and look forward to seeing you sometimes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews