We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Stevecpnz2014
Palmerston North, New Zealand

Great weekend away for couples

Review of Outrigger Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Jan 2019
We stayed with Yang at her lovely motel in January 2018. We were allocated 3 rooms with road frontage, which made it quite private from the rest of the motel but also added interest in terms of the passing foot traffic.

The rooms were very tidy and clean. Also they were within walking distance of the best pubs and restaurants and shopping facilities that Paihia has to offer, whilst being located on a quieter street.

Yang was the perfect host and we appreciated the fact that she went the extra mile for us on a number of things.

Good luck to her, her family and her staff as they certainly exceeded our expectations.
Date of stay: January 2019
Room Tip: Pick the ones closest to the roadside
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yang Z, Owner at Outrigger Motel, responded to this review
Responded 25 Jan 2019
Thank you very much for your kindly review, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Paihia, we wish you a great 2019, and look forward to seeing you again. Regard Yang
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Entrance of Motel.Very close to Waterfront
$129
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $129
0.2 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
$261
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$171
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$132
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $132
0.6 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $103
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Waterfront Suite
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $164
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $287
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $128
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $171
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Outrigger Motel
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $117
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Outrigger Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Paihia
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
209
64
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
209
64
7
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2019 via mobile

The staff were very accommodating and went out of their way to make sure our room was ready for us. Offered us information brochures and checked we knew our way around the area. Overall very friendly staff and a family approach. Room was tidy and had everything we needed, also had a complimentary bottle of milk which was handy on arrival! Would stay again :)

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hannahgee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yang Z, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2019

Thank you very much for your kindly review, we hope you had a great time in Bay Of Islands, we look forward to seeing you in the future. Regard Yang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2019

Budget accommodation can be good but Outrigger Paihia is kind of average and poor value given the cost. Room very budget : bed and sofa uncomfortable and fittings cheap. Location good - close to shops and beaches. Web site says "Breakfast available on request" but on arrival they said they wouldn't do it for us. Parking very cramped.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bruceoz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yang Z, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Thanks for your review, we do have continental breakfast available for $12 per person, but the reason I have suggested you buy from the bakery shop because they are more professional in cooking with cheaper price, and they just 50 metres away from us. Sorry for the troubles. Hope you had a great time in Bay Of Islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2018

We stayed here for 2N. Yang is a fantastic host, she gave us a very warm welcome to her motel. We were booked the base catagory of room in the motel, but that turned out the highlight of the stay. The room was full of wooden feel and small but had everything that one should require during the stay. The motel is 2 mins walk from the main market. It has free parking facilities on first cum first basis. Over all a fantastic stay and would highly recommend once in paihia.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohitraitani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yang Z, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Thank you for your kindly review Mohit, glad to have you here in Paihia, we hope you had a great time in Bay Of Islands and look forward to seeing you sometimes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2018 via mobile

Spotlessly clean and comfortable room. Helpful staff. Really close to the hub of Paihia so wandering off for breakfast or dinner is easy. Only downside is the lack of noise control, can hear noise coming from neighboring units. Otherwise I would recommend this place for an overnight stay.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank trishr262
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yang Z, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2018

Thank you for your review, we hope you had a great time in Bay Of Islands, thanks for being with us at Outrigger Motel, have a lovely day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

We were booked for one night, the weather was bad. Once we settled in the room, we added another night. Great room, well stocked, clean and comfortable. Yan was very friendly and helpful. Can’t beat the location. Would stay there again. Everything is close by. Lots of hot water and the electric blankets worked well. Quiet location with parking. Very pleased with our choice.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mihe27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yang Z, Manager at Outrigger Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thank you for your kindly review, we hope you have a great time in Bay Of Islands, and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews