We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Michael B
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Fantastic!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Feb 2022
We had read prior reviews and this motel rated well. We booked a downstairs sea view studio but when we arrived Jimmy offered us an upgrade to an upstairs suite with even better views. He couldn't have been more helpful and he's very friendly. The unit was serviced daily and was clean and tidy. Loved snoozing off at night listening to the waves just across the road. We had a great stay { 4 nights } and will definitely be back, next time for longer. Highly recommended.
Date of stay: January 2022
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$175
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $175
  • Hotels.com
    $157
  • Expedia.com
    $158
1.3 km from Bay Sands Seafront Studios
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$141
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Bay Sands Seafront Studios
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$139
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Bay Sands Seafront Studios
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Official Hotel
1.3 km from Bay Sands Seafront Studios
Free Wifi
Free parking
Waterfront Suite
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $200
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Bay Sands Seafront Studios
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from Lounge
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $115
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from Bay Sands Seafront Studios
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $110
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Bay Sands Seafront Studios
Free Wifi
Free parking
Heated pool - all year!
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $132
  • eDreams
1.3 km from Bay Sands Seafront Studios
Free parking
Pool
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $162
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Bay Sands Seafront Studios
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $114
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Bay Sands Seafront Studios
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Paihia
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
35
41
9
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
35
41
9
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road sea view studio great location the owner manager serviced daily a great stay superette motel unit views takeaway accommodation host
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2020

A good location, as it is out of central (and very busy) Paihia, yet walkable into town (ferry wharf, restaurants etc). Really good-sized rooms with comfortable beds and good facilities; being able to relax on the balcony in the evening sun was a real bonus! Helpful and friendly host. Perhaps a slight lack of privacy on the balcony side.

Room tip: Sea views are limited, so if that's what you want.......but it may be noisier!
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RAFwherever
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2020 via mobile

The bedroom, bathroom and lounge area was exceptionally clean and there was sufficient utensils and appliances in the kitchen area such as a microwave, fridge and small cooker. The place itself was very conveniently situated opposite the Sandy beach and within a 15min walk from the town centre and pier. However, it did lack space and would benefit from air conditioning. I would definitely recommend this establishment.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nickfreke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2020 via mobile

We had the front room which had nice views but we did hear some riff raff at night. The room was tidy and staff were nice enough. It's just your basic stay but our room had a nice big kitchen and dining table. You can walk down to the shops it's gorgeous but not as convenient when you have small kids with you. There is a playground over the road which was handy.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank traciegila
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2019

Went up to Paihia to spend a couple of nights for a special girls birthday. The reviews had all been fairly good stating the place was a bit older but clean & tidy. So we booked and we were most happy with the friendliness of the host 'Jimmy' who pointed out some local eateries & places to visit. Our room had panoramic views over Te Ti bay, Waitangi to the north, Russell and Pomare Bay to the south. The rooms in the unit were spotless, the bed most comfy and the views were awesome as we were given fine weather allowing us to do walks to Paihia and back both days. A little bit of traffic noise but that happens when you are so close to a road but worth it for the views. On leaving we complimented Jimmy on the cleanliness of the unit but said I needed to make a comment that the flags outside that were torn did not portray the great picture for the loveliness on the inside of the units. He took our comments well and claimed he would sort it out & appreciated our comments. Would hate to think it put potential guests off. Would we stay again? Sure would it was a pleasant few days.

Room tip: If you want a great view the upstairs beach facing units are great.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2019 via mobile

The room we were first given had a terrible odour. We asked to be moved ! They were agreeable
The room upstairs was much better. Very clean. Large room with beautiful view of the bay. Nice balcony. Little kitchenette with all you need. Bed too soft for my liking
Location good. We were able to walk to the little town and restaurants.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Maree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews