We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
93
27
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
27
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool haruru falls minute drive great hosts lovely pool the kitchen peace and quiet stayed nights on arrival good size family room excellent place to stay comfortable stay town centre stuart cottage unit
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Owners are sweet and their dog Dexter as well. Good size pool and flowery garden around it. Decent rooms with small kitchen, good bed and shower. 5 minute drive from Paihia where all kinds of water activities can be done. Probably closed in winter. Would certainly come here again!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Herbs2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshGroveMotel, Owner at Ash Grove Boutique Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you for your great review. We would love to welcome you back, and can assure you that we, and Paihia with all the activities are open throughout the year. Autumn is normally a fairly settled weather time, whilst still being warm enough to enjoy the pool. Regards Bron and Grange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

We had an amazing Christmas at the Ash Grove Boutique Motel. Grange & Bronwyn were wonderful. They made our Christmas extra special with a few little touches such as Christmas tree, Christmas crackers and mince pies in the room when we checked in. They were very helpful, the fish and chip shop they recommended was excellent.

The room was very nice and clean, there was even a BBQ outside but we didn’t get a chance to try it. The room had everything we needed; tea and coffee, luggage rack, hair dryer, iron and fan. The heat lamps in the bathroom and complimentary shampoo were great. The pool was nice after a long drive and they even gave us extra towels when we arrived.

Next time we hope to stay longer.

They even posted our phone charger to us we left behind. Amazing service.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank millertron84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshGroveMotel, Owner at Ash Grove Boutique Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Angie. Happy New Year and hoping 2018 brings you back again to the Bay of Islands. Thank you for your wonderful review, and we were delighted to welcome you to the Ash Grove. All the very best for the Year ahead. Regards Bron and Grange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

I cannot recommend this place enough,the photos do not do it justice.On arrival after a 9 hr drive we were greeted with an upgrade to a gorgeous family room.The owners hospitality and friendliness were very much welcome and they gave us advise on what to do. The pool area and gardens are the perfect way to relax after a day of sightseeing. Do not be put off by the fact it is slightly out of the town centre. An easy three minute drive to the centre with plenty of parking for us was a bonus as it allowed us to appreciate the quiet rooms and gardens.
Superb takeaway around the corner within walking distance should you wish a lazy evening sat on your terrace.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank robertgZ8295IQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshGroveMotel, Owner at Ash Grove Boutique Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Robert. Thank you for this wonderful review. We were delighted to upgrade your room, and so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the property. Regards Bron and Grange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

I stayed at this Motel with a walking group for 4 night this week - unit very comfortable, has a lovely pool. Also large grass space, with tables and chairs and BBQ where we could gather in the evening, for shared dinner and chat, and lots of laughs. Easy drive to beach and village, we also went on trip to pest free island, Russell, and Waitangi, all within easy reach. Lovely village, and lots of eating places, if that is what you need. We had lovely balmy sunny weather, after our raining winter at home, and all came home revitalised. Thanks, great hosts.

Date of stay: October 2017
Thank Binnie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Stayed here recently for 4 nights. It's a really great place close to Paihia but far enough away that you get some peace and quiet. We extended our stay by a night at the last minute and this was no problem at all. Very friendly manager and will certainly stay there again next time we are up that way.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mongreltodx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshGroveMotel, Owner at Ash Grove Boutique Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Hi Todd Thank you for your great review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Bron and Grange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews