We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$223
Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
George M
Windsor, United Kingdom

Great Place

Review of Anchorage Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Feb 2024via mobile
It gets booked up and I can understand why - we wanted a smaller room but could only get a family room We arrived well before check in time but our room was ready and we were treated by a smiling member of staff and showed our room . The room is fully equipped and spotlessly clean . It is close to the road and you do get some road noise but not so much at night . But it shows the level of thought as there are ear plugs in the bedside cupboards . We didn’t need them .
Pool,nice size for a relaxing swim after swim in the sea just across the road - it’s a great location
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Guest Room Private Hot Tub
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $640
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Anchorage Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Anchorage Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $129
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Anchorage Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from Lounge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $160
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from Anchorage Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Heated pool - all year!
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $102
  • eDreams
0.1 km from Anchorage Motel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $164
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Anchorage Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $119
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Anchorage Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Waterfront Suite
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $281
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Anchorage Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $138
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Anchorage Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Tripadvisor
$228
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Anchorage Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Paihia
Reviews (603)
Filter reviews
603 results
Traveller rating
404
168
20
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
404
168
20
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large shower within walking distance hot tub motel town unit kitchenette hosts laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 603 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2023 via mobile

It was our first visit to Bay of Islands and we had a most enjoyable stay at the Anchorage. Our unit on ground floor was spotlessly clean and spacious with all amenities that we needed. The manager and staff were friendly and helpful. It is in an ideal location across the road from the ocean and with only a short stroll to the main area of Paihai. We would highly recommend the Anchorage.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 928annj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 December 2023

We stayed in an upper level studio unit which had all the facilities needed for a comfy 3 night stay. Large shower with good water pressure, comfortable bed in a freshly renovated and clean room. Handy location to the beach, quay and the town centre. Ample on site parking. A kitchenette, sky TV, a great sea view, pool and hot tub.
Hosts and housekeeping were very helpful and friendly.
Just a little traffic noise as on the main road through town.
Would definitely recommend this motel.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Craigp0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2023

Had a spa room which was great and whole room experience was very comfortable . Restaurant next door so could have,a meal and a few drinks without having to worry about driving. Owners and staff were awesome.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank craigsQ8642YC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2023 via mobile

We arrived in Paihia just after the severe flooding in Auckland in January 2023. I believe we were the only guests in the motel due to cancellations because of the severe weather.

We stayed two nights in an upper floor unit, which was very comfortable and well appointed with the kitchenette, a second twin room and a large bathroom. We had a great view of the stormy sea across the motel garden and pool. It was a short walk to pubs and restaurants on the seafront.

The staff were very helpful and kept an eye on our laundry, which was returned to our room after a day out.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JAHhotels1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2023 via mobile

We tried to drive up to Pahia from Auckland on Tuesday 14th Feb but were turned back 75km North because all roads further on were impassable due to damage from Cyclone Gabrielle. Power lines were down and wifi unavailable so we could not contact The Anchorage.
They have kept $494.00 claiming we cancelled! Booking.com have been most unhelpful.
Needless to say I find this disgraceful.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews