We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Moon Shadow .....Luxury B & B experience ...our...”
other traveller has booked this property
Part of the 180degree water/harbor views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Part of the 180degree water/harbor views
Front of house Part view from the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Part of the 180degree water/harbor views
Front of house
Part view from the house
This is why we call it 'Moon Shadow'
Living/dining
living/kitchenette
living
living room open to terrace with 180 degree water views
master bedroom with super king bed
Master bedroom
Single bedroom with king single
Part of bathroom
Rain shower and Hand shower
luxurious products
from your private terrace
taste of beautiful garden
private residence
part of continental breakfast
continental breakfast
Breakfast served int your apartment
tropical garden plant
great sunrise viewed from your own terrace
what a beautiful run rise
very moody sunrise
sunrise, seen from your own terrace
another sunrise
sunrise, seen from your own terrace
tropical garden plant
tropical garden plant
flowers in our garden
tropical garden plant
amazing array of flowers
Garden and sea views
garden
garden
garden and terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Paihia, Bay of Islands, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

margaret1...
brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Moon Shadow .....Luxury B & B experience ...our five day getaway was all we could have wished for and more.”
Reviewed 8 December 2019 for a stay in November 2019
2
people found this review helpful

Moon Shadow B & B... what a wonderful find! We were looking for somewhere special to spend our anniversary getaway and this place does "special" in spades. Beat and Gerry were the perfect hosts and their personal taste and style is on show throughout the appartment, which is luxuriously decorated and surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens. There is a huge deck on which to relax and enjoy the superb view of the bay, but our hosts' attention to detail, advice and help on dinners and activities and warm hospitality gave our stay the "wow" factor. Thank you Gerry and Beat for the little things we didn't expect.....the flowers and chocolates and lovely personalised notes on our pillows at night.....the superb hand-made croissants on our breakfast table in the mornings and the cheery smiles and conversation that were on show every time we spoke. Exceptional and memorable.

Date of stay: November 2019
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglasv1...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Honeymoon in New Zealand”
Reviewed 6 December 2019 for a stay in October 2019
1
person found this review helpful

We can’t begin to express enough gratitude to Beat & Gerry, owners of Moonshadow, for making the start of our honeymoon in New Zealand so magnificent. The location where Moonshadow is situated is beyond description... you open up a large wall of windows that go from the floor to the ceiling looking out on the most spectacular view of the bay of islands. They spared no expense whatsoever in making the accommodations beyond comfortable for the most discerning of clients. They thought of every single detail right down to a Dyson fan in the beautiful bedroom along with motion activated night lights and a fully functional kitchenette. The furnishings are beautiful, very new and show no wear whatsoever and extremely tasteful. Beat & Gerry are two of the kindest and most professional hosts we’ve encountered in our worldly travels in a BnB such as theirs. Be prepared to be lavished upon every morning for your private breakfast that’s beyond description. They go to the market every day to pick up the freshness of ingredients ready and available to satisfy every type pallet.......the breakfast is comparable to a 5 star restaurant.

If you’re looking for a wonderful experience that you’ll never forget, Moonshadow is the place to stay. It was such a great experience that we’re already looking at our calendars trying to figure out when we can go back to stay at Moonshadow for a longer visit. If the scale of satisfaction is 1-10, they deserve a 15+.

With much gratitude, we say “Thank You!” for making our stay with you an experience of a lifetime!

Date of stay: October 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorianta
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Memorable Stay at Moon Shadow”
Reviewed 27 November 2019 for a stay in November 2019

The view across the bay is beautiful. The accommodation is sumptuous and gorgeously appointed. The breakfast served is lovely. But the real luxury is created by the wonderful hosts - they were so helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay memorable and a pleasure from beginning to end. I can’t recommend Moon Shadow high enough.

Date of stay: November 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2019
Thank you so much for your kind review, we very much appreciate it. It
was very much our pleasure to look after you, and we hope to see you again sometime.
With our very best wishes,
Gerry and Beat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Experttra...
Parma, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay at Moon Shadow”
Reviewed 29 August 2019 for a stay in August 2019

We had a great stay at Moon Shadow ! We felt really welcome and comfortable with a fantastic breakfast. Unbelievable views from the accomodation, complemented by the great service provided by our hosts Gerry and Beat so friendly and taking care of our wellbeing. Thanks for your warm hospitality !

Date of stay: August 2019
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2019
Thank you both so very much for such a kind and generous review. We are so pleased that we were able to make this a very nice stay for you, and we love doing it for people like yourselves; so kind and appreciative for every thing we did. Hopefully you had a good trip to the Cook Islands and back, and we love to see you again sometime! Thank you again for staying with us, and we wish you the very best. Gerry and Beat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navigate0...
Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Easter Weekend”
Reviewed 1 May 2019 for a stay in April 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Not cheap, but the value for the money is unbeatable. Fantastic location with a unique view, stylishly furnished und extremely clean. The icing on the cake is the lovingly prepared breakfast and the heartfelt care of the owners. Here you can really feel like king of New Zealand!

Date of stay: April 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2019
Thank you very much Leonhard for your kind review; we appreciate your comments very much and wish you and your family the very best for
your future. It was very much our pleasure meeting you and your family, and hosting you in our home; we hope to see you again!
Gerry and Beat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.