We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Summed up in a word....... superb!”
Part of the 180degree water/harbor views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Part of the 180degree water/harbor views
Outside of private house Living/dining room, fully air-conditioned
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Part of the 180degree water/harbor views
Outside of private house
Living/dining room, fully air-conditioned
living/kitchenette
living room open to terrace with 180 degree water views
master bedroom with super king bed
Master bedroom
Single bedroom with king single
Part of bathroom
Rain shower and Hand shower
luxurious products
from your private terrace
taste of beautiful garden
private residence
continental breakfast
part of continental breakfast
part of continental breakfast
tropical garden plant
great sunrise viewed from your own terrace
what a beautiful run rise
very moody sunrise
sunrise, seen from your own terrace
another sunrise
sunrise, seen from your own terrace
tropical garden plant
tropical garden plabt
flowers in our garden
tropical garden plant
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Paihia, Bay of Islands, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
John T
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Summed up in a word....... superb!”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

They say a picture is worth a thousand words. If you look at the pictures of this fabulous b&b you will see why. The location is perfect, a few minutes from the charming waterfront town of Paihia. The views are panoramic and breathtaking from both your own private terrace and every room. The apartment is spacious, elegantly furnished, fully equipped and with beds that will guarantee the best night' sleep you!ve ever had. Breakfast is brought to you by the owners - and what a feast of home made and local delicacies. Superb. All of that is enough to warrant 5 stars- but I have yet to mention the wow factor that many others have commented upon. You couldn't find more welcoming, caring and gracious hosts than Gerry and Beat who go out of their way to make you feel special. I defy anyone to find anything as good as this.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
Thank you John for your very kind revue.
You both have traveled the world and know standards; your opinions are therefore highly valued, and we thank you for your generosity. We hope you enjoy the rest of your New Zealand trip, and we would love to host you again sometime.
Please believe, the pleasure really was all ours.
Warmest regards,
Gerry and Beat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnandsu...
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Moon Shadow - Stand out accommodation in the Bay of Islands”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We are repeat visitors, back for a three night stay at Moon Shadow.... I did not think we could have improved on the first visit, but the second visit was even better! We both had the most comfortable sleeps in those luxurious beds followed by a lavish and delicious continental breakfast. We could not have wished for more. What struck us this time was the attention to detail. Moon Shadow is in a class of its own. In all the luxury boutiques and B&B's we have stayed at in New Zealand, we haven't come across anything remotely like Moon Shadow. Also I forgot to mention last time how helpful the hosts were assisting us to book tours etc. They even managed to get us a 10% discount. We will definitely be back a third time. Thank you Gerry and Beat for another memorable visit to the Bay of Islands.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2017
It was so nice to see you back again! We so enjoyed making this a memorable stay for you! It is so rewarding to get such a stunning revue, as we do our very best to please our guests and offer accommodation of the highest standard seen in this area. We like to thank you very much for all the nice comments, it is much appreciated.
Until next time!!
Warm regards,
Gerry and Beat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lidia W
1 review
“This Has It All”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017

If you are looking for an unforgettable experience when staying in Pahia, this is it.
Outstanding service, stunning views from your own balcony, unsurpassed comfort in a spacious and spotless apartment surrounded by a beautiful garden.
An excellent location, peaceful but only few minutes walk to central Pahia.
Over many years of world wide travel we have stayed in numerous luxury B&B’s and boutique lodges and this ranks among one of the best.
The owner’s genuine warmth and hospitality topped it off to make this one of our most memorable experiences.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2017
Thank you so much for such a good review, we really appreciate it, and we would love to see you back here one day, or we might see you in
Adelaide. You both were such lovely guests to have in our house.
It pleases us so much when our efforts are recognized and valued.
Thank you again, and all the very best,
Gerry and Beat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JS M
1 review
“Beautiful accommodation, gorgeous view”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Moon Shadow is a fabulous place to stay, beautiful accommodation, stunning views,
spotless, and wonderful attention to detail. The hosts are friendly and worldly, and you feel well cared for without sacrificing privacy. The highest recommendation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2017
Thank you both for a wonderful review.....it is much appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinshel...
Breckenridge, Colorado
1 review
“Moon Shadow luxury in Paihia”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Absolutely stunning!! If you want breath taking views with luxurious accommodations this is the place. Close enough to town that we walked to dinner every night yet also very private in a lush garden setting. The owners were incredibly helpful in every way! A highlight of our trip to NZ.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2017
Thank you Kevin and Stacy; you have been such delightful guests, we so missed you after you left! We do hope that your onward journey is very memorable too.
We wish you all the very best, but please come back one day, even just to say hello.
Gerry and Beat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$293
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing