We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
243
11
2
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
11
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private spa hot tub new zealand each morning three rooms private access stunning views amazing place to stay overlooking the bay steep walk highlight of our trip great hosts thoroughly enjoyed our stay excellent breakfast three nights comfy bed local area
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Arrived late afternoon to be greeted by a beautiful Vista of the Bay that was only surpassed by sunrise. The accommodation is very comfortable and luxurious. The host was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Fresh fruit for the room was in abundance and the breakfast was delicious. Should have booked for longer.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LizP2136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you Liz for taking the time to write your review. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

This was a lovely place to stay. The views are even better than in the photographs. Peace and quiet but still close to town. There is a steep hill to climb to the property but it’s easy to drive up and the views are worth it. There are only three rooms each with beautiful views.
Our hosts were very helpful and friendly. We particularly appreciated it that when our flight from Blenheim was delayed which meant we did not arrive until almost midnight Peter was very understanding and waited up to let us in. There was a good choice of delicious breakfasts and the property was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We would not hesitate to highly recommend a stay here.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

It was our pleasure to host you Karen. All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

The room was fabulous with a view overlooking Russell and the Bay of Islands.
Breakfast was love on a table. So beautifully presented and tasted fabulous.
The room was cleaned each day and spa was sparkling clean.
My daughter Poppy and I would go back tomorrow and really wished we had more time to stay longer.
The bed was the best. King sized and so comfortable.
10 out of 10

Room tip: Three rooms and equally stunning
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandammooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Amanda, it was great having such happy guests as you and Poppy. We have fond memories of your visit and wish you the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

Peter and Katalina were perfect hosts that made us feel at home immediately! We had an amazing 5 night stay in one of their beautiful ocean view suites. The room is gorgeous and the outside space with the hot tub is fantastic! Absolutely spotless! They gave us so many great tips about the surrounding area for sightseeing, restaurants, tours etc. The Bay of Islands is a must see and this place is a must Stay!

Room tip: All rooms are great but we stayed in room 3!
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thanks Diana. It was great fun having you and Chris. We much enjoyed your company. We hope the snow in Alberta was not too much of a shock to return to!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

We couldn’t fault our stay here. Amazing views, very friendly hosts.
Breakfast is included with you stay, and any choice you make they are all delicious, especially the French toast!!
You can enjoy a private spa on your deck overlooking the harbour.
Would recommend to anyone.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dodododada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thanks for your positive review. Such feedback from our guests makes us very happy. Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews