We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
243
11
2
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
11
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private spa hot tub new zealand each morning three rooms private access stunning views amazing place to stay overlooking the bay steep walk highlight of our trip great hosts thoroughly enjoyed our stay excellent breakfast three nights comfy bed local area
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in this upmarket bed and breakfast. Very comfortable room with luxury bathroom , hot tub on private balcony with views to the bay( in good weather!). Access is via a steep hill so not suitable for those with walking difficulties. Peter and Katerina were pleasant and helpful hosts
Breakfasts were fabulous but a later time than 8.30 would have made them even more so! A very small criticism - so minor it doesn’t affect my rating- is that a Continental breakfast should include bread/ croissants. Not that I needed it as my fruit etc were more than sufficient and delicious.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank denisemurray21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

We much appreciate you taking the time to write your review. All the best, Peter & Katalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

My wife Jennifer and I stayed at Tarlton's for two nights at the end of a long 3 week vacation. You could not ask for a better place to stay and nicer people to deal with. Peter and Katalina were so helpful during our stay and so accommodating. The view is spectacular and the rooms are very elegant and comfortable. Private breakfast served on your patio is the perfect way to start the day and you absolutely MUST try the french toast!! We would highly recommend this resort to others!

Room tip: Bring your swimsuit - Private hot tub on your balcony!
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you Cory. We enjoyed your company and it was a real pleasure hosting you. All the best to you and Jennifer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

We spent 11 very relaxing days and nights around Xmas time at Tarlton Lodge. The views across Waikare Inlet and towards Paihia harbour are superb. One morning Peter pointed out a pod of orcas (killer whales) herding manta rays up Waikare Inlet. A unique and magnificent sight, just as we were enjoying one of Katalina's delicious breakfasts. We just thoroughly enjoyed our stay and socializing with Peter and Katalina (and their family at Xmas time). They are very hospitable and a great source of information on the Bay of Islands as well as the maritime history of exploration of the islands of Oceania, especially by Cook (on which Peter is an expert).
Thank you Peter and Katalina.

Room tip: All rooms have good views, but the centre one is probably best.
Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thanks Robert & Annette for taking the time to write your review. We also really enjoyed your visit and our frequent discussions. Thanks again for choosing Tarltons Lodge. All the best.
Peter & Katalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

All those years ago we "tied the knot" and were looking for somewhere to celebrate the event. One of our our daughters suggested Tarlton's Lodge. The Internet seemed to suggest that it could be a good idea---and we were not disappointed. The unit, view out over the Bay of Islands, the spa and breakfast were tops. Pierre's welcome was very genuine and helpful; thank you for your graciousness.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 841leonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Our pleasure to have you. Best Regards Peter & Katalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

We spent three nights in Paihia, and stayed at Tarlton's Lodge. We arrived early, and the owners Peter and Katalina were incredibly accommodating. They showed us around the building, and gave us maps and contacts for things to do in Paihia.

The rooms were excellent, and the views incredible. We had a private hot tub for our use overlooking the ocean.

Tarlton's Lodge is a short 10 minute walk from downtown Paihia. We left our car parked the entire time and walked to the beach, dinners, and sailboat tour.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joss S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Tarltons Lodge and appreciate your positive review. Best Regards Peter & Katalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews