We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
243
11
2
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
11
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private spa hot tub new zealand each morning three rooms private access stunning views amazing place to stay overlooking the bay steep walk highlight of our trip great hosts thoroughly enjoyed our stay excellent breakfast three nights comfy bed local area
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2018

We spent 11 very relaxing days and nights around Xmas time at Tarlton Lodge. The views across Waikare Inlet and towards Paihia harbour are superb. One morning Peter pointed out a pod of orcas (killer whales) herding manta rays up Waikare Inlet. A unique and magnificent sight, just as we were enjoying one of Katalina's delicious breakfasts. We just thoroughly enjoyed our stay and socializing with Peter and Katalina (and their family at Xmas time). They are very hospitable and a great source of information on the Bay of Islands as well as the maritime history of exploration of the islands of Oceania, especially by Cook (on which Peter is an expert).
Thank you Peter and Katalina.

Room tip: All rooms have good views, but the centre one is probably best.
Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thanks Robert & Annette for taking the time to write your review. We also really enjoyed your visit and our frequent discussions. Thanks again for choosing Tarltons Lodge. All the best.
Peter & Katalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

All those years ago we "tied the knot" and were looking for somewhere to celebrate the event. One of our our daughters suggested Tarlton's Lodge. The Internet seemed to suggest that it could be a good idea---and we were not disappointed. The unit, view out over the Bay of Islands, the spa and breakfast were tops. Pierre's welcome was very genuine and helpful; thank you for your graciousness.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 841leonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Our pleasure to have you. Best Regards Peter & Katalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

We spent three nights in Paihia, and stayed at Tarlton's Lodge. We arrived early, and the owners Peter and Katalina were incredibly accommodating. They showed us around the building, and gave us maps and contacts for things to do in Paihia.

The rooms were excellent, and the views incredible. We had a private hot tub for our use overlooking the ocean.

Tarlton's Lodge is a short 10 minute walk from downtown Paihia. We left our car parked the entire time and walked to the beach, dinners, and sailboat tour.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joss S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Tarltons Lodge and appreciate your positive review. Best Regards Peter & Katalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017

We very much enjoyed our stay at Tarltons. Very nice accomadation and very hospitable hosts. Outlook over the bay of islandswas just sureal and the French toast is a must for breakfast. Thanks very much

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bumber14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

It was a pleasure having you and much appreciate your review.
Best Regards Peter & Katalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

Views from the deck outside the room were breathtaking. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and the hot tub on the deck a lovely bonus. It’s a steep walk back up from town but worth it to be in such a peaceful and beautiful position overlooking the bay.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Andjo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Thanks Andrew & Jo for your review. We hope your journey home to the U.K. was not too tiring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews