We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
243
11
2
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
11
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private spa hot tub new zealand each morning three rooms private access stunning views amazing place to stay overlooking the bay steep walk highlight of our trip great hosts thoroughly enjoyed our stay excellent breakfast three nights comfy bed local area
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2017

All those years ago we "tied the knot" and were looking for somewhere to celebrate the event. One of our our daughters suggested Tarlton's Lodge. The Internet seemed to suggest that it could be a good idea---and we were not disappointed. The unit, view out over the Bay of Islands, the spa and breakfast were tops. Pierre's welcome was very genuine and helpful; thank you for your graciousness.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 841leonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Our pleasure to have you. Best Regards Peter & Katalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

We spent three nights in Paihia, and stayed at Tarlton's Lodge. We arrived early, and the owners Peter and Katalina were incredibly accommodating. They showed us around the building, and gave us maps and contacts for things to do in Paihia.

The rooms were excellent, and the views incredible. We had a private hot tub for our use overlooking the ocean.

Tarlton's Lodge is a short 10 minute walk from downtown Paihia. We left our car parked the entire time and walked to the beach, dinners, and sailboat tour.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joss S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Tarltons Lodge and appreciate your positive review. Best Regards Peter & Katalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017

We very much enjoyed our stay at Tarltons. Very nice accomadation and very hospitable hosts. Outlook over the bay of islandswas just sureal and the French toast is a must for breakfast. Thanks very much

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bumber14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

It was a pleasure having you and much appreciate your review.
Best Regards Peter & Katalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

Views from the deck outside the room were breathtaking. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and the hot tub on the deck a lovely bonus. It’s a steep walk back up from town but worth it to be in such a peaceful and beautiful position overlooking the bay.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Andjo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Thanks Andrew & Jo for your review. We hope your journey home to the U.K. was not too tiring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

We stayed at Tarlton's Lodge between 8th and 9th December 2017.

The accommodation is hard to fault, nice private rooms with a terrace area with a lovely hot tub to sit back and enjoy the stunning views the property has to offer.

The hosts are very welcoming and provide all the information about the area and restaurants in the town which is great when you only have limited time to explore.

The place is on the outskirts of Paihia, up on the hill overlooking the bay. Obviously this means a short walk into town which takes about 7mins to the edges and around 15-18 to the central pier area which is no problem at all and is better on the way back to burn off some of the calories from dinner! You would not get the great views if the property was in the middle of town so a short walk to get the blood pumping is small sacrifice for the views from a hot tub.

The property has plenty of parking for rental vehicles which we had. Breakfast was included and you have a excellent selection to choose from and all served on your own table on your private terrace.

Hope this above review is useful for anyone looking to book accommodation in Paihia and after walking around town and looking at other accommodation options from the roadside we were really happy with our choice and would stay here again.

I have only given the location 4 stars as it is on the edge of town (which was not an issue for us at all) but 5 stars would give a false impression that it is on the seafront in Paihia.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

It was a pleasure having you, James and Freya, and thanks so much for taking the time to write your review.
One of the notable features of Tarltons Lodge is the tranquillity of the location, enhanced by birdsong, the murmur of waves lapping on the beach below and the complete absence of any road & traffic noise. The view from any accommodation on the seafront in Paihia, by its very location, includes the beachfront road and comes with the associated vehicle congestion and road & traffic noise. Our guests coming from urban environments prefer the abovementioned tranquillity that Tarltons Lodge has to offer. For those guests on foot, not wishing to walk back up the hill, a courtesy car from a nearby restaurant or a local taxi company which services our guests, delivers them back up the hill at the end of the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews