We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
243
11
2
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
11
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private spa hot tub new zealand each morning three rooms private access stunning views amazing place to stay overlooking the bay steep walk highlight of our trip great hosts thoroughly enjoyed our stay excellent breakfast three nights comfy bed local area
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Peter and Katalina are the perfect hosts. Very friendly reception in a nice accommodation. Location is very quiet, breakfast is excellent. Peter gives a lot of recommendations. Already on the website you can see that the B & B is run personally. Especially the view a reason to book there.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joh-HH-NF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Your vote of confidence is much appreciated. Happy guests are what makes our work most rewarding.
All the best and safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay at Tarlton's. Everything from the wonderful breakfasts to the stunning views and afternoons soaking in the hot tub was perfect. The location was ideal and just a short walk from the pier. We cannot recommend this place more!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sarahreder88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thank you Sarah for the positive review. It was our pleasure to host you and Adam. You were the perfect guests. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Hard to find, hard to park, so far from town you need to drive to anywhere. It may be luxurious, but we found the room to be claustrophobic with a limited view.
Although we had paid in advance we went and found somewhere closer to town.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017


We were disappointed to learn that Tarltons Lodge did not live up to your expectations, wish you well and hope that you have enjoyed the remainder of your New Zealand tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

I went to the Tarlton's Lodge to celebrate my 3rd anniversary with my husband and we spent one night in there. The pictures online don't make justice to this beautiful place.
On our way to the Paihia we made a stop, and someone told us there was a music festival in the town, so I thought no one would be at the reception. Effectively when we arrived there was no one in the reception, but a beautiful welcome letter with all the instructions. We went to the room and we had a private entrance that was very close to a forest inspiring view. We went downstairs and the first thing we saw was the amazing view from the room, the sea, the boats, the calm and the pretty flowers in the garden. I also love fruits and the touch of the apples in the outside table was really nice. When I entered the bedroom, OMG I would love to transmit the smell of that room, it was like flowers and vanilla, just perfect. The bed, the chairs, the bathroom... great taste. The bathroom is so cozy, the towels so fluffy and again the smell just delicious.
The room was immaculate, we have no complaints at all. They take care of every little detail, we went out at night to have dinner and even when the stairs have some ilumination, they put a torch in the room in case you need it.
As soon as we arrived we went to the spa and while in there, the owners arrived (They knocked the door before they came in LOL), and they were very apologetic about not being there to welcome us, those apologies remained until we left.
Next day when we woke up, the view with the sunrise was amazing. The breakfast was requested at 8.00 and at 7.45 we already had coffee and orange juice on the table just outside the room. The breakfast was from another world, I asked for the toast with berries and banana, my husband the big breakfast with sausages, eggs, hashbrowns and many other things; both breakfasts were perfect.
While checking out they invited us to their house and we talked for like 20 minutes, such a nice couple with a very interesting life.
We will definitely come back to this hotel, and we highly recommend it.

Room tip: Views and breakfast
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LizCumare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Liz & Nelson:
It was such a pleasure having you as guests and also such a pleasure to learn that Tarltons Lodge lived up to your expectations.
We much appreciate your positive review and most definitely look forward to seeing your smiling faces once again at the Lodge, hopefully this summer when the weather is warmer.
Best Regards
Peter & Katalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

3 nights at Tarltons was the perfect getaway.
Visiting the coromandel from Adelaide for a mates 30th, after which we went looking for a place to spend some time together.... Enter Bay of islands / Pahia / Tarltons lodge!
Katalina and Peter are lovely, very welcoming & full of tips about what to do in the local area. The rooms were comfortable, very clean & with a private spa looking out over the bay you couldn't go wrong. Breakfast was also spot on each morning...we highly recommend the French toast... Was delicious ;)

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenwatt182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thanks Jennifer & Daniel for your review. I much enjoyed our discussions about the Voyages of Captain Cook! Glad you enjoyed the French Toast. We hope to see you back at Tarltons in the future.
Best Regards
Peter & Katalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews