We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Situated close to the Marine Parade is this lovely coffee shop.We enjoyed our breakfast there so much we returned again.”
Review of The Tennyson

The Tennyson
Ranked #1 of 25 Coffee & Tea in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Tennyson is a cosy and peaceful café located in the heart of Napier. The café provides a large choice of delicious cabinet food and meals, All our food is homemade, cooked with fresh, and seasonal ingredients. Its really important to us to use local suppliers. You will also be served locally roasted coffee. Equality coffee. Our quirky vibe creates a home base for travellers, and for locals going about their daily routines. Bask in the summer sunshine at our al fresco tables or cosy up inside where it's always toasty on chilly winter mornings. Come and visit - the team would love to look after you!
Reviewed 6 March 2024 via mobile

Great cafe in a great location. Teena is an excellent hostess. We really enjoyed the coffee and the freshly made blueberry muffins.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2023 via mobile

Spotted the place as we were just wondering through Napier town, and it was really lovely. Staff are really kind and the coffee was great too. Wide selection of both food and drinks, would definitely recommend!

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank Ellacundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 September 2023 via mobile

Nestled in Napier’s friendly art deco centre, we popped in for lunch and liked it so much we went back again the following day for breakfast.
Super friendly staff and you can tell that the food is made from quality ingredients.

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank MadseyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2023

We’ve visited here a number of times and always a tasty experience. We often grab something yummy from the cabinet (croque monsiuer is a favourite) and the coffee is always exceptional. Great staff and lovely art deco space. Will be visiting again.

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NewZealandChevgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2023

We enjoyed our breakfast, taste good and well presented. The staff was lovely. The place is quite central.

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrsGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Tennyson also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to The Tennyson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.