We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

The Silky Oak Chocolate Company
Book In Advance
More Info
US$401.84*
and up
Private Shore Excursion: Napier Highlights in a Vintage Car
Ranked #2 of 17 Shopping in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 8 April 2017

This chocolate company was well recommended in my guide book. It was full of all sorts of Easter chocolate in all shapes and sizes. Since I do not eat milk chocolate, there was only one small dark chocolate bar at 70% which was expensive for the size. I left totally unimpressed.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soak, Owner at The Silky Oak Chocolate Company, responded to this review, 11 April 2017
We have a large range of dark chocolate only products in the shop, 48% through to 70%. 70% dark chocolate has a limited customer base, with most people wanting something slightly sweeter to the palate. Our chocolate is all couverture, which means it does not have any added fats or palm oil, it is also handmade, with the price being comparable to others of the same ilk. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with the range we have on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    65
    27
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Here again!”
Reviewed 4 April 2017

I visit this place everything im anywhere near napier. love love love it. It was the first time i have had breakfast here but they didn't let me down. Have an iced chocolate they are sooo good.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soak, Owner at The Silky Oak Chocolate Company, responded to this review, 5 April 2017
The iced coffees and iced chocolates are divine, and that is not because I am biased. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast as well. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A day trip around Napier”
Reviewed 1 April 2017

We took a 4 hour trip around Napier which included a stop at the Silky Oak Chocolate Company. This sounded good from what our coach driver told us. Not quite so. It must be the only chocolate company in the area and every coach goes there first until the wineries open. Anyone who wanted to taste the chocolate had to go into the one small tasting room and then have to get past the Dragon at the door. Only one piece of the milk and one of the dark each. She was heard to tell one woman that she had had her sample. Not a very good customer experience for us. We put back what we were buying and left as did others who were present.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soak, Owner at The Silky Oak Chocolate Company, responded to this review, 5 April 2017
We aim to please all our customers and love giving out samples of our chocolate. We have a large number of people that come through our doors.
Most people recognise that a 'sample' is a small offering of our products. Some customers feel that grabbing a handful of samples rather than the polite 'one of each' is acceptable.
We like to consider all people attending a tour, and try to provide samples to all attending. Our staff have this in mind when offering samples to our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
263 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Chocolate is good but cafe is an embarassment!!!”
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Nice chocolate, but the cafe next door has POWDER hot chocolate? Come on guys! Do you want ME to buy the real Chocolate next door for you??? I think it's embarassing...

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soak, Owner at The Silky Oak Chocolate Company, responded to this review, 5 April 2017
We are really pleased to see you enjoyed our chocolates. If you had told the staff you were wanting real chocolate, instead of powdered (our hot chocolate is powder and real mixed) then we would have offered you our extreme chocolate. This one is sooo thick that it requires a spoon to enjoy fully.
The reason for both is because our customers have different wants and needs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An extra $2.50 to scramble my eggs!!!”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

I couldn't believe it when I asked if my eggs could please be scrambled rather than poached or fried and after asking in the kitchen was told yes but it would be an extra $2.50!! Although quite tasty rather eXpensive and not very friendly service. Won't be returning!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Matlyn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soak, Owner at The Silky Oak Chocolate Company, responded to this review, 5 April 2017
Our scrambled eggs are made with love, an extra egg and cream. Hence the extra charge. Our customer service is normally second to none, so if you have a problem in the future could you please ask to speak with the manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Silky Oak Chocolate Company also viewed

 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to The Silky Oak Chocolate Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing