We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$136
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Hotels.com
US$136
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
FindHotel
US$119
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
travelup.comUS$146
TravelocityUS$136
ZenHotels.comUS$134
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,512)
Filter reviews
1,512 results
Traveller rating
1,014
420
55
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,014
420
55
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premium studio separate toilet spa bath across the road sea view lovely room hawkes bay ahuriri balcony bedroom waterfront cafes dishwasher bathrobes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,512 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2022

We had 1 bedroom front room with a deck and view over the ocean. The beach was across the road and past a car park. the room was very comfortable, we pulled up the two comfy chairs up to the window and spent out few days sipping wine and taking in the views. Restaurants, bars and shops were a few minutes walk and plenty of choice along the waterfront about 6 minutes walk. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and also enjoyed brunch at the cafe downstairs. We will be back.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Michele Cole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2022

Dear Lynne M

So pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards

Michele Cole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2022 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights 8th till 11th Jan, paid over $1000, on the second day after being out all day ,room hadn’t been serviced, we had been told all rooms were serviced daily, rang reception and after 10 minutes of excuses were told we weren’t a priority because they had a full house the previous night . After pushing them hard the cleaners eventually serviced the room , head cleaner told us we were expecting too much and would we like to spend a day in her shoes. ?? We suspected on the first night that the sheets hadn’t been changed from previous guests as well but didn’t say anything ,, should have in hindsight. Windows and exit doors to the property were all filthy as well ,,, won’t be back ,,,

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Odyssey671873
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Michele Cole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2022

Dear Odyssey671873

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Yes we do provide a daily room service and our housekeeping team generally complete all the arrival rooms first so our rooms are ready for guests to check in and then they complete the services, unless a guest requests that their room be serviced at an earlier specific time, in which we did not receive this from you.

I am sorry your room was not serviced upon your return at 3.00pm as the ladies were about to get to it. It was done immediately upon your phone call to reception and we serviced your room whilst you were out the following days at the time that was suitable for yourself.

Your sheets were absolutely new, clean and pressed sheets on your arrival as they are with ALL guest rooms and if you suspected they were not, then I would expect the guest to call us immediately.

The large external hotel windows were professionally cleaned on the 23rd Dec and we clean all EXIT doors daily.

Kind Regards


Michele Cole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2022

Below par from start to finish. They put us in a different room to what we booked and paid for, due to an ‘accident’ with the guests staying in our room before us (no further detail provided on what the accident was). No compensation was offered for this change and for ending up with a room that didn’t meet our needs.

When you’re paying >NZD500 per night, you expect high quality - this was anything but. A very tired looking room which hasn’t been well cleaned, with a view of the road (not the sea).

I wouldn’t recommend staying here until they have had a much needed overhaul of their rooms/hotel.
In the meantime, they should adjust their prices down to reflect the tired state of the accommodation.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank EnglishmaninAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Michele Cole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2022

Dear EnglishmaninAuckland

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us!

You booked and paid for a 2bedroom and was originally on the 3rd floor however the guest that stayed the previous night flooded the bathroom which went through to the carpet and we did not want to place you in a room with damp carpet. You still had exactly the 2 bedroom that you paid for but we moved you to the 2nd floor and this had a king in one room and a king and single in the 2nd bedroom which gave you more space. Where as the 2 bedroom on the 3rd floor had only 2 x singles in the second room.

Sorry that you think the hotel and your room requires an overhaul as we are always maintaining the rooms etc and the housekeeping team do a great job of the cleanliness of the rooms. The prices were slightly higher due to demand over the New Year period.

Regards

Michele Cole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2021

We found blood on the sheets at around ankle height in the bed. We weren't looking for a refund or compensation we just wanted them to acknowledge their wrong doing and look into why this happened so it didn't happen to anyone else. Instead the hotel manager tried to tell us it was our blood after we had assured her that we were 100% sure it was not ours. She then tried to put the blame on our 6yr old and 4yr old. Her response was an absolute disgrace. We haven't ever come across such poor customer service. We told her we had nothing to gain from telling her about the blood on the sheets and yet she refused to believe that her housekeeping staff may not have changed the sheets which is the most logical explanation. I never leave bad reviews but I draw the line at blood stained sheets, disturbing.

Date of stay: December 2021
Thank Fearless36876427722
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Michele Cole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2022

Dear fearless36876427722

Firstly I want to say again that I am sorry you had a terrible experience with us during your recent stay.

As discussed with you, I 100% guarantee that the sheets were stripped from the previous stay and clean sheets were placed on the bed as my Duty Manager personally stripped the bed from the previous guest and our Head Housekeeper actually made the bed with the clean sheets. Fresh pressed sheets are always placed on new guest arrivals.

I do not accept to be told that my my Duty Manager is a liar.

Your wife did tell me that she found the scratch marks at the bottom of the bed because she pulled back the sheets to see if your children had left any toys at the bottom of the bed as they were playing in the bed and yes I did ask 'if perhaps the children had scratched themselves while playing??' I was also baffled as to how the blood scratch marks had got there and I am so sorry that the end of your stay with us came to this feedback.


Kind Regards

Michele Cole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2021 via mobile

Stayed in plenty of 4+ star hotels in our time and this was underwhelming. Basic room decor, no restaurant, bar was hardly open. The room rates are excessive for the location and the sparse amenities that are on hand. Sea views helped dampen the disappointment.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NatashaM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Michele Cole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2022

Dear NatashaM101

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback and I am disappointed to receive this feedback. Milk and Honey Restaurant is our onsite restaurant located at the front of the hotel. You can chargeback to your room for breakfast, lunch and dinner or order room service. They also have a bar within the restaurant or we have or small house bar in the courtyard which is open from 4pm.

Kind Regards


Michele Cole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews