We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Priceline
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveller rating
270
264
74
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
270
264
74
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free wifi stay there again spa pool great place to stay studio room estuary motel accommodation hosts units ahuriri kitchenette bonus bay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 641 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2021

We needed a unit for 1 night close to food outlets. The Albatross was perfect. Separate bedroom. Good sized bathroom. Great to have a kithen and a fridge/freezer. Very comfortable beds. Easy walk to takeaways.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank hpnjsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Albatross Motel, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2021

Thankyou for your review and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2021 via mobile

Fantastic stay only wish we could have stayed longer. Spotlessly clean . Very friendly will certainly stay again.
Look forward to our next visit. Visiting the bay is always great to catch up with family friends.
Awesome weekend at Albatross Motel

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank marshmall0w18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Albatross Motel, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2021

Thank you for your awesome review it was a pleasure hosting you. We look forward to seeing you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2021

I recently stayed here with my sister & my daughter. We had a mid-week family getaway because we all live busy lives. We incorporated the stay with an outing to the Queen tribute concert and the town hall. We really enjoyed staying at the Albatross. The room was clean, modern and had everything we needed during our stay. The staff were lovely & helpful. We will definately return when we get another chance.

Room tip: We had a downstairs room. Very convenient
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AbodeTararua
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Albatross Motel, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2021

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback.
We look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2021

Room was spotlessly cleaned and new shower was excellent.
Hospitality shown by host very poor.
My whole room shook when someone walked along the balcony out side my room. When child bounced his soccer ball along balcony it felt like an earthquake.
The motel is very cheap construction .
The tap fittings in bathroom and kitchenette were cheap and a poor design extremely hard to turn on and off. The small room was definitely not worth $ 190 per night despite attempt to refurbish as the quality of the construction was so poor.
I would never want to pay more than 130 or 140 for thus type of accomodation.
On positive there was a nice view of estuary .
On negative a noisy road below.
Felt ripped of by the price I was charge during Anzac weekend.
I would NEVER stay there again. So many nicer and cheaper motels in the area.

Room tip: Get a room on ground floor so your room does not shake when people walk past.
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karynnesbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Albatross Motel, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2021

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. Our upper floor & ground floor units are more basic rooms for truck drivers & contractors. We always recommend the premium rooms for tourists- you wouldn't know this by just booking the cheapest room online- it's always a good idea to call the motel direct and have a chat about your requirements/expectations to avoid disappointment (on both sides- as we don't like seeing people not enjoy their time here either)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2021

Our stay was an unfortunate occasion. Our AirBnB was cancelled by the host due to a family emergency at the last minute.

The Albatross was the last places that had room at the $200/night range the BnBs were charging. We can understand why. We just don't understand what warrants the $200/night.

I'll credit that the room was moderately clean on arrival. We had a jovial greeting from a gent standing in for the owner. Milk was provided. And there was a working heat pump unit.

From there it was downhill.

The shower, a bizarre exercise resulting in luke warm response with no pressure. Not something you really want after a long drive. See picture.

Towels were very tired and thin. The sheets were similarly tired, with holes. Which reminds me of the carpet and occasional chair upholstery too. See picture.

No complimentary toiletries beyond a "hand wash" dispenser in the shower and a "hair and body" dispenser next to the basin. The contents of both looked and smelled the same. Not pleasant either. See picture.

There's private patio, of sorts, out the back of the room. Not really that inviting. See picture.

As for the bed.....the best nights sleep was on night 4, when we were back home in our own bed!

Room tip: Avoid it. Next to a busy arterial road. Ground floor units need to contend with noisy occupants upstairs.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pristle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Albatross Motel, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2021

It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your stay however your frustration for the Air Bnb being cancelled at the last minute seems to be aimed more to towards us and not your Air bnb.
Napier motels are more expensive than anywhere in the country due to the lack of providers and is priced accordingly to supply & demand, you bought the last room in Napier.
Towels & linen are provided by a dry cleaning service, carpets are in the midst of being replaced room by room.
The beds are new but obviously everyone has different preferences.
We do not offer complimentary toiletries as it is a waste of plastic & not good for the environment (according to Qualmark)
The showers have an interesting feature- also an economic & better for the environment solution. All you have to do is read the instructions and have a little patience.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews