We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$291
View deal
Expedia.comUS$306
Hotels.comUS$306
TravelocityUS$306
PricelineUS$306
eDreamsUS$291
Orbitz.comUS$306
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
164
14
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
164
14
6
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2019

We loved our two night stay here. Positioned high on the Napier cliffs with glorious water views, this was a luxury stay with wonderful home cooked breakfasts. But it was also much more - Yvonne was a superb hostess. We enjoyed her fascinating explanation of the history of the lodge, of Napier and its Art Deco origins. Our chats over a glass of wine each evening and eagerly took up her excellent dinning suggestions. This is the “must stay at” accommodation in Napier. Really enjoyable and highly recommended. Andrea and Peter.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajhogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2019

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure having you to stay at the Lodge and I always try to help guests get the best out of their stay in Napier. There is so much to see and experience here in the Bay and it is a pleasure to share it all with my guests, particularly over a glass of our wonderful Hawkes Bay wine!. I hope to welcome you again some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2019

McHardy Lodge is a wonderful building – picture postcard Victorian colonial bungalow on the outside with country house grandeur on the inside.
We had three nights in the Venice Super King Suite and loved the room (it is as grand as the photos on the website suggest).
Breakfast, too, was very well cooked and the views from the breakfast table were wonderful.
So, the decision is whether to give McHardy Lodge a rating of five or a four… and it’s a four – for reasons that didn’t detract from our stay, but makes the venue fall just short of top marks.
We felt the Lodge was a little lacking in personality – it is efficient rather than genial.
Also, McHardy Lodge is in a quiet residential cul-de-sac atop Hospital Hill (hence the views and tranquillity) but it does mean that if (like us) you like to walk in to Town to enjoy a bottle of wine with your meal without getting behind the wheel, there is a calf challenging decent followed by an inevitable lung busting ascent on the way back: Napier is a 15 minute walk (initially through the Botanical Gardens) while the walk to the restaurants and bars at West Quay is down a vertiginous road and then through a soulless industrial area. Of course – we could have taken a taxi!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AJFfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are pleased that the Lodge and your suite met with your expectations - we are just so sorry that you missed the details of our location on our website. We always ask if we can arrange a taxi if guests do not wish to walk. We try to match the assistance we offer with what guests appear to want - we always do our best to help with activity and restaurant bookings and we offer a complimentary glass of wine to guests in the evening. This is often the time when we can be at our most hospitable, but if guests choose not to join us , we respect that. Once again, we regret that we did not meet your expectations in this regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2019 via mobile

Our 3-day stay in this beautifully restored, historic home was a delight. We loved the rooms—impeccably decorated and very comfortable—and we really appreciated Yvonne’s warm and gracious hospitality. The delicious breakfasts included fruit grown on and near the property. We felt as though we’d been invited to share someone’s home! We hope to visit Napier again, and when that happy time comes we’ll definitely return to McHardy Lodge.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank GlamorousGrammar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2019

Thanks so much for such a nice review - it was a pleasure to have such a lovely couple to stay and it will be a delight to welcome you back some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2019 via mobile

Stayed one night in this nicely restored property in quiet neighbourhood. Pleasant enough room but not private as right next to verandah. We had to draw curtains even though daylight. Given 4 stars, as an average would have been too harsh.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank kingbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 March 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and it has been wonderful! Yvonne is a great host - there when you need her with plenty of hints and tips and not at all obtrusive. We stayed in the lovely Chianti room which was very comfortable and we slept really well. Breakfast was excellent. If we are lucky enough to return to Napier we will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lilolilColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2019

Thank you for such a positive review - if you do get to Napier again you would be more than welcome. It was a pleasure to host you at the Lodge and to help you get the most out of your stay. I hope the rest of your stay in New Zealand is equally enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews