We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic flavours beautiful food great prices”

Star of India Taradale
Ranked #29 of 228 Restaurants in Napier
Price range: $3 - $36
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 May 2024 via mobile

Awesome restaurant
The food is incredible
Large variety in menu, authentic flavours, excellent service and very well priced
An absolute favourite

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank Excursion13909194690
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2022 via mobile

Was a super great experience. Very nice kingfisher on tap in large glasses. Classic Indian cuisine. Would go again any day of the week!

Date of visit: May 2022
Thank Ged R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 May 2021

While the décor is not as "Indian" as some Indian restaurants that counts for little. The food was universally delightful. Authentic? I am not Indian and so I am not qualified to judge but it was totally to our tastes. The dishes were served hot and in a very timely fashion. The owner's daughter served us. She was very helpful and friendly - a delight to interact with. Her father was also very obliging and made very useful suggestions. He delivered separately some "Indian hot sauce". I really enjoyed that I think I will ask or that next time. They also readily gave us the left overs to take home. The BYO wine charge was not excessive a $5.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bihari Raturi, Owner at Star of India Taradale, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Thank You so much your lovely cement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2021 via mobile

This has been our go to Indian Restaurant for some time and it’s always been consistently great. Last night was no exception, but would like to comment on the friendly and helpful service, a factor almost as important as the food quality.

Date of visit: February 2021
2  Thank Q4455USbenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2021 via mobile

Thankyu whole team of restaurant and specially Manish Gorilla Head chef thankyu for awesome food we will come back

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank vs17245
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Star of India Taradale also viewed

 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Star of India Taradale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.