We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Scenic Hotel Te Pania(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The County Hotel Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pebble Beach Motor Inn(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dome(Napier)
US$159
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$176
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
expressotel(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Art Deco Masonic Hotel(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Nautilus(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kennedy Park Resort Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
130
3
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
3
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglass of wineperfect hostsone nightnew zealandhome cooked dinnerserved a delicious breakfastlovely pool areablue codwonderful coupletea coffee making facilitieshighly recommend this b bhome comfortstheir beautiful homebed and breakfastgenerous hostsother guestslocal knowledge
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2017

A really comfortable and well laid out B&B with the perfect hosts in Wendy & Peter. On our first night we were invited to drinks and nibbles with our hosts. They gave us plenty of useful information on places to eat and where to visit. In fact, one of the restaurants they recommended was one of the best meals we had on our holiday. It is possible to walk in to the centre of Napier from here, it takes about 20 minutes, and this is what we did most of the time so as to take a break from driving. The first evening Peter drove us into Napier which was very kind of him. There is a lovely pool area at the rear of the house that guests are welcome to use, unfortunately the weather was not good enough during our brief stay to take advantage. In the hall is a cupboard with tea/coffee, cookies and a fridge with water. Also in this cupboard are leaflets and guides to the area. So much better than a faceless hotel and to round it off, Peter's breakfasts are worth the stay alone!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gadabouts95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I5300EKpeterm, Owner at 119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Gadabouts, thank you so much for posting a review and for providing such a thorough and informative overview of 119. We really do appreciate you taking the time and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The highlight of operating a B&B is definitely the folk we meet from around the globe and to know they enjoyed their stay with us is an absolute bonus. Sincere thanks and we hope you have taken home great memories of your New Zealand holiday. Best wishes, Wendy and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

As B&B owners ourselves, all I can say is that this is how to run a B&B! The rooms are immaculate, bathrooms spotless and there is even a "goodies" pantry in the hall for tea, coffee and small snacks and biscuits. Wendy and Peter are a lovely couple and we thoroughly enjoyed our chats with them and took their advice on where to go, what to see and where to eat . The breakfasts are plentiful, cooked to order and more than enough to start your day sightseeing around Napier and the various wineries in the area. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I5300EKpeterm, Owner at 119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

As you own and operate a Bed and Breakfast in France it was really fabulous having you stay and having great chats of our industry in both countries and experiences around the globe. !! So pleased your stay and we are quite overwhelmed at your very kind and generous comments. Thank you so much and we wish you a fantastic upcoming season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Room was extremely comfortable, elegant and peaceful and serviced every day. The cupboard adjacent to the room has snacks, tea, coffee and information on much about everything in the area.. Wendy abounds in enthusiasm and has at her fingertips great knowledge of the area..Pete! Big teddy bear makes a mean breakfast, just delicious! Six sisters in town has great coffee. We ate at the Indonesia restaurant and the thai hutt both meals delicious...Pete and Wendy are very good at what they do and like to engage with their guests.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank swallowtails1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I5300EKpeterm, Owner at 119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

We really do appreciate you taking the time to post a review to assist future visitors to Napier. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive feedback. In Napier we are so spoiled with the great cafes and excellent restaurants - not to mention the close proximity to the fabulous wineries!! Many thanks and Best wishes from us both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

When you are travelling about, you want a comfortable bed and space to relax. Wendy and Peter, the host provide just that and more. They are attentive to detail and treat you as visiting friends rather than paying guests. The room we had was bright, very clean, mega comfortable bed and the most powerful shower I have experienced in a hotel or B&B. Wendy and Peter provide canapés and a drink on the day you arrive of the next day if that suits better. They encourage their guests (only one other room) to mix and they sit with you and it is a good way to socialise and get to know about other people. This might not suit some but if you enter into the spirit..it is a good experience. Pete's breakfast specials have been mentioned by others...don't stand on ceremony..go for it. The town of Napier with its Art Deco attractions is a lovely place to amble in and the wine tours are worth doing ..probably only the half day tour. If we come back to NZ, we might just head for Napier simply to stay here again. Wished we had based ourselves here rather than having to move on to Taupo.

Room Tip: Either rooms would be good
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ScottishPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I5300EKpeterm, Owner at 119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thank you for such a thorough and positive review!! We really do appreciate the feedback and also you taking the time to assist future visitors to Napier. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Pete thoroughly enjoys creating his 'Specials' and loves to set his guests up for the day!!
We understand how tiring travelling and being on holiday can be so endeavour to see to our guests' comfort and enjoyment of their stay. Safe travels and it would be fabulous to see you back one day. !! Best wishes from us both, Wendy and Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Wendy and Peter are the ultimate B&B hosts. They made us feel very welcome and were extremely generous with their hospitality and local knowledge/recommendations. We really enjoyed meeting them. They invited us for wine and snacks on a couple of nights. Breakfasts are made to order, with an enormous amount of eggs, bacon, toast, etc. The bedroom room and bathroom were large and impeccably clean. And the queen bed was very comfortable. Nice little swimming pool and patio. Need to drive to town, but that's a quick trip. This was one of the best B&Bs or hotels we stayed in during 4 weeks in the North and South Islands.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janchappell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I5300EKpeterm, Owner at 119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

We so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the thorough review and super comments. We really enjoy the time we share a glass of wine with our guests as it is such a good opportunity to hear of their lifestyles, past travels and experiences and also to get to know them. We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your time in New Zealand and have taken home great memories from our part of the world. Very best wishes from us both. Wendy and Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews