We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts in an awesome B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2017

On our trip across the North Island we stayed for 2 days at this extraordinary B&B.
We enjoyed every single minute and felt very much at home.

Its location in an elegant area was perfect for us, just a short drive to Napier’s center.

The house is very airy and offers a lot of space inside and on the covered terrace with
access to the pool.

Our room was bright and modern furnished and its ensuite bathroom was as well spotless
clean as the whole house. The bed was very comfortable and we could not have slept better.
Its was equipped with all the amenities we needed, like the tee and coffee making facilities
just opposite of our room in the small lobby.

Wendy and Peter are great hosts. Both are very attentive, helpful and very communicative.
We had a great time together and a lot of fun. We followed their recommendations, which
could not have been better.

The complimentary wine and canapés were as well delicious as the fantastic breakfasts.
Peter’s specials were the perfect start for exploring the wonderful Hawke’s Bay.

All in all our stay was one of our journey’s highlights. Our expectations were more than fulfilled.
We highly recommend this B&B, which is perfectly run by a wonderful couple.

Juergen Linnenbuerger
Cologne, Germany

Stayed: March 2017
Thank jlhcp15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I5300EKpeterm, Owner at 119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017


Thank you for such an in-depth review of your recent stay, for the positive feedback and very kind comments. We endeavour to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable during their stay and so pleased you enjoyed your time at 119. Many thanks and best wishes from us both. Wendy and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2017

A really comfortable and well laid out B&B with the perfect hosts in Wendy & Peter. On our first night we were invited to drinks and nibbles with our hosts. They gave us plenty of useful information on places to eat and where to visit. In fact, one of the restaurants they recommended was one of the best meals we had on our holiday. It is possible to walk in to the centre of Napier from here, it takes about 20 minutes, and this is what we did most of the time so as to take a break from driving. The first evening Peter drove us into Napier which was very kind of him. There is a lovely pool area at the rear of the house that guests are welcome to use, unfortunately the weather was not good enough during our brief stay to take advantage. In the hall is a cupboard with tea/coffee, cookies and a fridge with water. Also in this cupboard are leaflets and guides to the area. So much better than a faceless hotel and to round it off, Peter's breakfasts are worth the stay alone!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gadabouts95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I5300EKpeterm, Owner at 119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Gadabouts, thank you so much for posting a review and for providing such a thorough and informative overview of 119. We really do appreciate you taking the time and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The highlight of operating a B&B is definitely the folk we meet from around the globe and to know they enjoyed their stay with us is an absolute bonus. Sincere thanks and we hope you have taken home great memories of your New Zealand holiday. Best wishes, Wendy and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

As B&B owners ourselves, all I can say is that this is how to run a B&B! The rooms are immaculate, bathrooms spotless and there is even a "goodies" pantry in the hall for tea, coffee and small snacks and biscuits. Wendy and Peter are a lovely couple and we thoroughly enjoyed our chats with them and took their advice on where to go, what to see and where to eat . The breakfasts are plentiful, cooked to order and more than enough to start your day sightseeing around Napier and the various wineries in the area. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I5300EKpeterm, Owner at 119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

As you own and operate a Bed and Breakfast in France it was really fabulous having you stay and having great chats of our industry in both countries and experiences around the globe. !! So pleased your stay and we are quite overwhelmed at your very kind and generous comments. Thank you so much and we wish you a fantastic upcoming season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Room was extremely comfortable, elegant and peaceful and serviced every day. The cupboard adjacent to the room has snacks, tea, coffee and information on much about everything in the area.. Wendy abounds in enthusiasm and has at her fingertips great knowledge of the area..Pete! Big teddy bear makes a mean breakfast, just delicious! Six sisters in town has great coffee. We ate at the Indonesia restaurant and the thai hutt both meals delicious...Pete and Wendy are very good at what they do and like to engage with their guests.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank swallowtails1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I5300EKpeterm, Owner at 119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

We really do appreciate you taking the time to post a review to assist future visitors to Napier. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive feedback. In Napier we are so spoiled with the great cafes and excellent restaurants - not to mention the close proximity to the fabulous wineries!! Many thanks and Best wishes from us both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

When you are travelling about, you want a comfortable bed and space to relax. Wendy and Peter, the host provide just that and more. They are attentive to detail and treat you as visiting friends rather than paying guests. The room we had was bright, very clean, mega comfortable bed and the most powerful shower I have experienced in a hotel or B&B. Wendy and Peter provide canapés and a drink on the day you arrive of the next day if that suits better. They encourage their guests (only one other room) to mix and they sit with you and it is a good way to socialise and get to know about other people. This might not suit some but if you enter into the spirit..it is a good experience. Pete's breakfast specials have been mentioned by others...don't stand on ceremony..go for it. The town of Napier with its Art Deco attractions is a lovely place to amble in and the wine tours are worth doing ..probably only the half day tour. If we come back to NZ, we might just head for Napier simply to stay here again. Wished we had based ourselves here rather than having to move on to Taupo.

Room Tip: Either rooms would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ScottishPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I5300EKpeterm, Owner at 119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thank you for such a thorough and positive review!! We really do appreciate the feedback and also you taking the time to assist future visitors to Napier. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Pete thoroughly enjoys creating his 'Specials' and loves to set his guests up for the day!!
We understand how tiring travelling and being on holiday can be so endeavour to see to our guests' comfort and enjoyment of their stay. Safe travels and it would be fabulous to see you back one day. !! Best wishes from us both, Wendy and Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.7 km away
The County Hotel Napier
1.7 km away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
927 reviews
2.5 km away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
581 reviews
1.0 km away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 46 in Napier
690 reviews
1.1 km away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#10 of 46 in Napier
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast

Address: 119 Georges Drive, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range: $192 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
119 on Georges Bed and Breakfast is a character bungalow, comprising two suites, each with their own private en-suite and which are tastefully and comfortably decorated to accommodate the discerning traveller. We are centrally located to the central business area boasting magnificent art deco architecture, wonderful shopping, art galleries and fabulous restaurants and cafes. Hawke's Bay famous cyclepaths are almost at the front door and these pass through orchards, wineries, along the waterfront, through wetlands and are ideally placed for coffee stops at cafes or lunches at wineries or a country pub. Winery tours collect you from here and deliver back after a great afternoon of tasting and exploring our magnificent wine region. Our guests' comfort is our priority and we look forward to welcoming you to 119 on Georges Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing