We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dot H
Ipswich, United Kingdom

Excellent hotel in well placed location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 weeks ago
We stayed 3 nights in this lovely Art Deco themed hotel. Room was clean and comfortable and had doors opening onto the first floor terrace. Beautifully decorated throughout. Hotel is well placed for all that Napier has to offer. Staff all very friendly and professional. Very much enjoyed our stay
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Hay, Owner at Art Deco Masonic Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your thoughts, it's great to see you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $147
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Dome, Napier, New Zealand . Look carefully we are the 2 tiny spots on the penthouse floor.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $231
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Free Wifi
External
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $131
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $223
  • Algotels
2.0 km from Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $162
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $167
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $148
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $91
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bedroom
  • Agoda.com
  • Lol.travel
    $168
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
2 Bedroom Villa Master Bedroom
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $75
  • Booking.com
2.4 km from Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Napier
Reviews (1,501)
Filter reviews
1,501 results
Traveller rating
983
422
77
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
983
422
77
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art deco royal suite roof terrace beautiful hotel pacific view marine parade step back in time across the road car parking new zealand central location centre of town comfortable room masons character era waterfront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,501 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2024 via mobile

This is a lovely restored Masonic building that is in a great location on the esplanade. There is no parking on site but surplus paid parking nearby in the council car parks. We downloaded the parking app so could pay for parking as needed and was only a 5 minute walk back to the hotel. Convenient location to the nearby art deco buildings. Bed was comfy. Bathroom well appointed but would have been nice to have an in room espresso machine. Restaurant downstairs was great as well as the nearby Japanese restaurant.

Room tip: There can be a little bit on road noise in the mornings.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rosco_FNQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Hay, Owner at Art Deco Masonic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2024

Thanks for your feedback and thoughts, much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2024 via mobile

Firstly ....all staff were brilliant and very professional...my 3 stars does not reflect on them.... also restaurant is brilliant and I've written a separate review....

Overall the hotel is a beautiful art deco building ....

but access is poor especially with suitcases etc.... have to lug up entrance stairs and then only one luggage trolley for whole hotel....

our room ...a superior studio...was ok but had a grubby, body -clinging shower curtain... eek!! For the price paid the bathroom needs an upgrade ....rooms need a few more amenities eg bowls etc.... carpet cleaning an outdated and worn...

Some improvements and could be fantastic...

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lizh015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Hay, Owner at Art Deco Masonic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2024

HI Liz,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I appreciate your constructive thoughts and we are acting on these where possible. We undertake regular carpet cleaning and the whole was recently completed. Also, n'Note that there are not many rooms with shower curtains now as we've been changing these out. See you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2024

We visited the Art Deco Masonic Hotel for drinks and stayed for dinner. The menu was full of surprises with plenty of options. Our meals were extremely well presented and tasted as good as they looked. The service was very discreet and also of an exceptionally high standard. We will return and take friends with us next time. Thank you for making our evening so special.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Hay, Owner at Art Deco Masonic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2024

Thanks for dining in K Kitchen, glad you enjoyed your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2024 via mobile

Loved staying in Napier, such a lovely place, great vibe and staying at this hotel just completed the stay. Friendly staff, lovely room, we were in room 116 which hubby booked as had french patio doors opening out onto a roof type terrace where there were seats overlooking the street and the sea where you could sit and have a cup of tea in the fresh air or maybe a glass of wine. We had a 2 night stay here which really helped you to get a feel for the place and meet the lovely locals . Went to the museum opposite which was free and really interesting to listen to the survivor accounts of the 1930 earthquake here (and nice gift shop too). Nice walk along the promenade and the gardens, nice shops. There is a restaurant and bar here called KKitchen which is accessed through the hotel and has a kiwi/Indian twist and despite its varied reviews was very nice for a meal if you do not want to venture too far. There was no breakfast on site, the restaurant only opened for breakfast at the weekend apparently but there was a nice cafe called Adoro just a couple of minutes walk up the road serving cooked breakfast and french pastries which was very nice. The room was quirky and lovely with tea , coffee, milk and fridge. The bed was a little on the firm side for us, could have done with a topper pad really, sheets and pillows were nice and crisp. Very quiet hotel. Elevator to upper floors. If arriving by car, pull in in front of the hotel, there are 3 free spaces whilst you check in and then the car park is a couple of minutes walk away. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Hay, Owner at Art Deco Masonic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2024

Thanks Rita for your thorough feedback. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time here at our hotel and in Napier. You've summed things up well and hopefully your husband makes another booking for next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2024 via mobile

I'm giving this 3 stars to be kind. I know it's hard running hotels in quiet towns. BUT.... I was so disappointed.

The room was small and musty smelling with no wardrobe. The bathroom tiny with a bath that you have to step up into to
use the showet, which I literally creamed myself in by slipping on the (dirty) non slip mat. There is nothing cosy or luxurious about the hotel. I honestly couldnt wait to check out. Sorry for this review, but that how it is. This hotel is in need of a serious refurbishment. I could not recommend it.

The bar is run by different staff and is a positive addition.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank michellefromdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Hay, Owner at Art Deco Masonic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2024

I'm saddened to read your feedback Michelle and sorry your experience wasn't what you would rightly expect. I'd be interested for you to elaborate further by emailing us directly so we can look to remedy this for future guests.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews