We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$115
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$115
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$113
View deal
Hotels.comUS$115
PricelineUS$115
TravelocityUS$115
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,432)
Filter reviews
1,432 results
Traveller rating
942
408
67
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
942
408
67
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art deco roof terrace beautiful hotel marine parade new zealand centre of town a great place to stay comfortable room masons emporium suite character era waterfront cafes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,432 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2022

The best thing about the Art Deco is the location, right on Marine Parade and in the centre of town. In addition to that there is a great roof terrace with tables and comfy chairs overlooking Marine Parade and the waterfront. We had a superior queen room, which was a little on the small side, but with a decent bathroom. The TV was freeview only, which was limited in choice.

Date of stay: February 2022
1  Thank Rob0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Craig Hay, Owner at Art Deco Masonic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2022

Dear Rob
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the balcony overlooking Marine Parade and The Pacific Ocean. Our Queen Rooms are our smallest room type and we have a variety of other rooms including Studios, Suites and and an Apartment. The best descriptions of these can be found on our website.
Kind Regards Art Deco Masonic Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2022 via mobile

Having a pre Valentines weekend away and chose here as we couldn't get down for Art Deco weekend.
The period building is fantastic, and the lady on reception fantastic.
The fod and beverage manager, Vineet (?), deserves a special mention. He picked up on my complaint that the onsite restaurant Globe, which is apparently under a different owner and staff, refused me breakfast service, or a coffee, at 10 past 11 on a bank holiday sunday, despite the sign in the lobby offering breakfast still being displayed. To make it worse, as i spoke to the waiting staff, they served 2 coffees to customers.
Vineet kindly opened the main bar, the Rose, early, personally made the coffees and was able to quickly offer a light breakfast.
Well done the Rose, and thank you.
Shame on the Globe for raising expectations and not delivering.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank philipr451
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 February 2022 via mobile

This hotel has some great history and we really enjoyed our say. The hotel has done its best to retain the Art Deco charm. The staff on the front desk were excellent and we enjoyed the fact the room opened onto a balcony overlooking Marine parade. It a great spot to watch the sun come up with a cup of coffee, or the sunset with something stronger.
The location is perfect, situated on Marine parade and close to all sorts of restaurants and the main shopping area.
A couple of things to be aware of; the rooms aren’t fully sound-proofed and the plumbing meant that water took a while to heat and at times you could hear pipes in the adjacent room. We put both of these features down to the era of construction (neither cause us concern).
We would definitely go back.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 714stevem714
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Craig Hay, Owner at Art Deco Masonic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2022

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We enjoyed hearing you enjoyed the location and use of our feature balcony. We hope you are able to return again soon.
Kind Regards from the team at Art Deco Masonic Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2022

Normally, I really can't be bothered about character, as long as a hotel is clean, comfortable, spacious and has great facilities in the room, we're pretty happy. The Art Deco Masonic Hotel on the other hand, hit "character" out of the ballpark. We booked 2 rooms due to our family size and we were intrigued by how each room had a different theme! It's so suitable to beautiful Napier, which is a very nice little "Broadway"-ish and artsy town. In short, the hotel was really classy and is brimming with character. The amenities in the hotel were great.

The reception is friendly and helpful, and when we entered the hotel, it feels like we're in, for lack of a better description, a classic American hotel run by Frank Sinatra or something like that! We felt welcome in the hotel. The fact the hotel also provides a place to park is a big bonus.

The hotel is effectively situated in Napier city itself, so walking out of the hotel, we could go to the pretty new-looking Museum next door, or just walk around the city to shops and places to eat (there are many to choose from!), or just walk out to the seaside and enjoy the breezy stroll. The main street itself has lots of things to see, because Napier simply oozes character. It was a highlight of our entire holiday.

Oh and what clinched the deal? A PERSONALISED written welcome note by hotel staff... that, really touched my heart - this is truly a brilliant human touch from the hotel!!!

Without a doubt, we'll return to this hotel when we come back to Napier. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank k1w1j1nxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Craig Hay, Owner at Art Deco Masonic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2022

Thank you so much for your heartfelt review and it was lovely to hear you appreciated some of the little touches. As you note we are blessed with a wonderful location to explore Napier from and most guests love stepping into our little art deco world. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2021 via mobile

We were unexpectedly upgraded to the Masonic when our original room at the Expressotel became unavailable. Our room, the Mark Twain suite, was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The bed was soft and we slept soundly. Our only note is that the water pressure was poor in the room, however this could be due to the age of the building. We enjoyed the access to the balcony overlooking Marine Parade, and the location was great. We parked our car and didn’t need it all weekend! Book via the hotel website to get free parking.

Room tip: Book via the website, not through a 3rd party, to get free parking
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AucklandGal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Craig Hay, Owner at Art Deco Masonic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2021

Thank you for your review and we were pleased to hear you enjoyed your upgrade to the Mark Twain Suite.
We are happy to offer a complimentary car park to guests who book directly with us and it's nice to know they appreciate the benefit. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews