We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
11
7
13
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
11
7
13
3
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Was late to check in but a note with keys was left pinned to the door which I really appreciated. Kitchen was okay. Felt very uncomfortable sitting in the lounge as there are a group of people that make it clear you should move so they can use the TV. Not sure why.

Rooms were clean and plug sockets provided. Great view of the ocean. Met some great people here, staff helpful.
Whilst packing to check out there were cockroaches all over my clothes which put a bad end to a good stay. Bathrooms terrible with no wash basin and awful shower. Sinks in the bedrooms barely produce an adequate around of water to wash hands.

I stayed in room 1 upstairs but rooms 7 and 8 are right by the kitchen and looked terrible.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Celeste F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 July 2017

My boyfriend and I chose the Art House Backpackers as an overnight stop in Napier. We arrived at the hostel, with two heavy suitcases and were turned away at the door, even though we had booked online. A young man came to the door, who was not the owner, telling us that they weren't taking any more guests. Waving our booking sheet at him, he mumbled about how the owner didn't want anymore guests due to renovation. He then told us to take it up with the owner who was a few doors down in another hostel. So we took our bags a mile down the road where we found, 'The Bluewater Lodge'. This was crowded with backpackers but no owner in sight. We eventually got the owners number off another guest, who told us one of the backpackers would find us a room in this new hostel. All in all, the experience was extremely poor and not what you would expect from a reasonably rated establishment.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank R6517ZJchloeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

The Art House is in a great location, it's clean, tidy and well equipped. And the sink inside the dorm is handy as.
Unfortunately for us, the manager at the time was having a shocker, he was particularly unhelpful, unaccomodating and rude, bit of an experience spoiler for us.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Scarlett_Manuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Great location and I also had a room with a view of the sea which was amazing. Clean and cosy. Made some really good friends here. Staff were very pleasant and I'll definitely return :)

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

The Art House was a bit cramped and damp but good as a base for a few nights. There was a nice big kitchen but sadly no oven which makes what you can cook quite limited. The rooms are basic but good enough and the showers are okay but again, limited. It rained heavily when we stayed in Napier and the area you can eat in basically had a stream running through it and the rooms downstairs had water pouring down their doors too. Not brilliant but alright in dry weather for a few days.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank GirlOnH0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews