We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Jocelyn J

Pet friendly overnighter

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Jun 2018via mobile
My husband had to make an overniight trip from Gisborne to Napier recently and we were pleasantly surprised to find this pet friendly hidden gem in a quiet location and close to the city with friendly and approachable hosts.

With a 3 rating on an old property, we had read many conflicting reviews about the family sized room with ensuite bathroom, small adequately appointed older style kitchen and a private fully fenced rear courtyard which our Furbaby was quick to find. We were pleasantly surprised, although disappointed to find no DVD Player and hairdryer as had been advertised however the unit was clean and the super-king bed was very comfortable. We didn't see the spa this trip and had to return to reception to obtain the free internet password as it wasn't offered or provided in the room. We would certainly stay here again when travelling with our dog.
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$151
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Bay Beauty Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
External
Booking.com
$174
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $86
  • Hotels.com
    $174
1.8 km from Bay Beauty Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$179
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $179
  • Hotels.com
    $171
  • Expedia.com
    $176
2.3 km from Bay Beauty Motel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
$149
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Bay Beauty Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$200
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $200
  • Agoda.com
    $168
  • Expedia.com
    $200
2.5 km from Bay Beauty Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
$240
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $220
  • Agoda.com
    $194
  • Algotels
    $237
2.6 km from Bay Beauty Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$167
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $167
1.9 km from Bay Beauty Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Quest Napier
Tripadvisor
$186
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Bay Beauty Motel
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
$121
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.6 km from Bay Beauty Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $31
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Bay Beauty Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Napier
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
15
14
6
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
15
14
6
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

The man at reception was really helpful. He helped us to find attractions that we were interested in. The room was really quaint. The specials touches in the room were really lovely - a vase of live floweres and a dish of chocolates were on the table when we arrived. Would recommend this motel to anyone.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2017

I love the kind customer service. VERY clean rooms and good rates. The spa is the added bonus with the home away from home feeling. Very happy with the breakfest an owners are delightful. I enjoy all stays here and LOVE that they pet friendly.

Room tip: all rooms are good . end room closer to spa an playground.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank not-happy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 June 2017

I stayed here under another persons recommendation because I was traveling to Napier with my dog. I arrived late at night and was disappointed from the moment I entered the room. The motel is a block of old joined state flats with concrete walls between each room. It was cold and there was only a single oil heater and no electric blankets. The blanket on the bed smelled like dog, the room had not been vacuumed in who-knows how long, the bathroom was growing mold in every corner and most walls, there was something splattered on the bathroom wall that resembled blood. The shower water pressure was non-existent and the tv had regular tv channels, no sky at all. The curtains in the ranch slider were a bunch of recycled curtains that didn't quite cover the space leaving gaps between each curtain. We had asked for two beds and one had a single pillow no thicker than a phone book.
Upon waking we couldn't get over the fact that simple cleaning had not been done so called around and found a much cleaner motel to stay at. We told the cleaner (who came only to give us fresh towels, not to clean, before we had even left the room for the day) that we were leaving and why, and she spoke to the Manager. He told her not to charge us seen as we were not happy. I tried to pay anyway but she insisted so we left. I almost didn't put this review up but I don't want others booking the motel without first knowing what they are booking. Photos will be attached.

Room tip: There are much cleaner places to stay for the same or less $$ that still allow pets in Napier.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faw1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Great place to stay and very affordable!! One room unit slept 4 of us, 3 kids (4,6, & 8) and myself. A queen bed and one single bed to start off with but the owner was more than happy to set up another single bed in the room for us. Had all that we needed for our stay of 2 nights. The place was clean on arrival and was serviced for the second night. Close to the local takeaway shops and cafes.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank john_manoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2017

First and foremost "Was blown away" by the humble attitude of the Owner. They are more than welcoming and accommodated to all our requests with a smile. Place was much more clean and has facilities than our expectations. I would say it would be the one of the most affordable yet great Motel in Napier..

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GouravNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews