We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
HingstonMill
Wellington

Great service, comfortable and clean

Review of Fern Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Dec 2018
We were traveling from wellington with a dog, didn't show up until late at night and left early in the morning. The owners were very accommodating, the motel is basic but clean and comfortable and they trusted us. Great service experience and value for money.
Date of stay: December 2018
Room Tip: close to the beaten track if you're travelling
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
External
Booking.com
$174
  • Priceline
    $132
  • Agoda.com
    $124
  • Hotels.com
    $174
4.2 km from Fern Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$200
  • Priceline
    $200
  • Official Site
    $190
  • Hotels.com
    $202
4.2 km from Fern Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
$240
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $230
  • Agoda.com
    $196
  • Algotels
    $239
4.2 km from Fern Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$219
  • Priceline
    $181
  • Agoda.com
    $171
  • Lol.travel
4.2 km from Fern Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$209
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $209
  • Priceline
    $209
  • Expedia.com
    $209
4.6 km from Fern Motel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
$173
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $173
  • Agoda.com
    $148
  • Expedia.com
    $173
4.2 km from Fern Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$200
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $200
  • Agoda.com
    $176
  • Hotels.com
    $200
4.8 km from Fern Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Quest Napier
Booking.com
$199
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $178
  • Agoda.com
    $171
  • Hotels.com
    $189
4.2 km from Fern Motel
Free Wifi
Premier Executive unit
Booking.com
$160
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $160
  • Agoda.com
    $143
  • Expedia.com
    $160
3.7 km from Fern Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$179
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $179
  • ZenHotels.com
    $177
  • Priceline
    $179
4.3 km from Fern Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Napier
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
93
37
18
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
93
37
18
6
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Some of the slowest inter you could think of even with the so called wifi expander. Its go that so much lag it's hard to watch anything you stream..if it works that is.. no DVD players/blue ray only freeview bit expensive for having no sky low water pressure oven that is hard to work.

Apart from that rant ............

great service clean rooms every day. Top Mark's for that 10/10

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank snappy2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Pre-booked one night Studio. Warm welcome. Good guest laundry.
Older motel and decor to suit. Situated away from town center so had to drive for restaurants and shopping. Room was clean and quite well appointed, small bathroom and shower , low water pressure in shower. Double bed uncomfortable, requires a bed upgrade.

Room tip: Rooms on left of complex may be quieter road noise.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wrassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

We were lucky to get a room here as we booked a day out from the long weekend, When we arrived it was fully booked out. The motel has a pool and a playground as we arrived late we didn’t use the pool. The playground could do with a little fix up here and there but my 3yr old enjoyed it. We booked the family room it had three singles in one room and a huge comfy queen possibly king size bed in the lounge. The room and bathroom was immaculate and modern. I loved the huge bed it was extremely comfy. Although the motel was fully booked we didn’t hear any noise. This was the most quiet motel I’ve ever stayed at awesome!!! Staff were kind and friendly. I’d definitely stay here again. It ticked all the boxes for us. Thank you!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jah1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Napier was our 2nd stop in New Zealand after A few days in Auckland and expectations were high. We were disappointed because:
- cramped room and enough space to move around: and
- lack of simple amenities like shampoo; washing machine in laundry is filthy; etc
We know the new owners are working hard and trying to provide high quality service but they need to set up suggestion box to make improvements. The cleaning staff were outstanding in keeping the room tidy.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Wanake
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Gorgeous costumer service which goes beyond an above, to make sure your stay is a blast! The caravan is equipped with everything needed and very high standard comfy space. The pool which is a hit with the children. I am very happy with the overall experience and the amazing costumer service an extra mile of gifting a free night accommodation to help my situation at the time. Very happy and will definitely book here more often and recommend to ALL ages and budgets. Cant wait to come again.

Room tip: Caravan is a decent standard, comfy and everything needed. Enjoyed it here
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank not-happy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews