We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tour of the Hawkes Bay wineries”
Review of Frankly Tours

Frankly Tours
Ranked #1 of 33 Food & Drink in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Frankly Tours specializes in daily tours of selected Hawke's Bay boutique wineries, craft breweries and artisan food producers. Hawke's Bay is regarded as the food and wine basket of New Zealand with a rich and diverse selection of produce in agriculture, viticulture and horticulture.Frankly Tours NZ Ltd is owned and operated by Hawke's Bay local Frank Heuser, a proud 5th generation kiwi. ​With 30 years experience in the Hawke's Bay wine Industry, hospitality and tourism, Frank is a well known personality within the wine, beer and artisan food producer families of Hawke's Bay. With his knowledge, contacts and personable style Frank is proud to share all that is wonderful about Hawke's Bay . `Quite frankly, it's about showing new friends around the area I love - the people, the producers and our beautiful region.'
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

My girlfriend, cousin and I did a half day wine tour with Frank and it was a really great day. All the staff at the winereries were really friendly and knowledgable in beautuful locations. Frank's tour was well organised and he was very approachable and easy to get along with. Would definitely recommend!

Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranklyToursNZ, Owner at Frankly Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Hi Sam thank you for reviewing your experience on the half day tour. It was a pleasure meeting you all and knowing that you enjoyed the tour. Cheers Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"craft brewery"
in 6 reviews
"wine industry"
in 13 reviews
"great knowledge of the local area"
in 2 reviews
"final visit"
in 2 reviews
"wine tour"
in 13 reviews
"delicious platter"
in 3 reviews
"day tour"
in 5 reviews
"boutique wineries"
in 4 reviews
"beer tasting"
in 2 reviews
"larger wineries"
in 2 reviews
"hawkes bay"
in 10 reviews
"perfect guide"
in 2 reviews
"in depth knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"memorable afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"excellent value for money"
in 3 reviews
"amazing tour"
in 2 reviews
"door to door service"
in 2 reviews
Filter

19 - 23 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Frank was knowledgeable, friendly and relaxed. The wine tour was perfect for our girls weekend. Awesome selection of wineries and beautiful scenery, combined with Frank's perfect hosting meant we had a fantastic day.

Thank JodyB1327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranklyToursNZ, Owner at Frankly Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi Jody, thank you for reviewing, it was indeed a pleasure to have met you all and guide you through a slice of beautiful region. Cheers Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We have been travelling the North Island of NZ and we couldn't go past all the wonderful reviews of Frankly Tours on here. Frank did not disappoint and our half day tour was the best part of our stay in Napier! My wife and I had never done wine tasting...Frank gave us newbies some tips and helped us to get the most out of the experience whilst enjoying ourselves. We visited four different wineries and a brewery. It is very evident that Frank is well respected within the industry and had so much knowledge to share with us about the history of the area as well as the wines. To top off the day he also gifted us 2 souvenir glasses. Thank you again!

Thank Mitchell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranklyToursNZ, Owner at Frankly Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi Mitchell thank you for the lovely review and in knowing that your first wine tour was a highlight during your stay in Hawke's Bay. It was a pleasure meeting you both, as per a biblical quote 'wine is life', I therefore trust that the mystery of wine will become part of your life too! :)
Cheers Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We came down and were staying in Napier for the weekend.
Frank was prompt and his vehicle was new and very well turned out.
We did the full day and had a pick of some of the wineries as we were the only group on in the morning
Fantastic commentary and very knowledgeable on area and wine!

Lunch at Mission was superb and final visit to Roosters brewery was a perfect end to the day

Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranklyToursNZ, Owner at Frankly Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you Richard for taking the time to review and attaching the lovely photos. It was a pleasure meeting you all on a full day tour and to know you enjoyed the day.
Enjoy your bucket list travels next week in the USA.
Cheers Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Thanks to all the great Reviewers previously, you are spot on FRANK, offers a fun and informative day!
...top notch tour....
A clean & comfortable bus, great commentary on winery's , history and the region.
4 great wineries, and one beer pub (classic kiwi venue), accompanied by a gorgeous share platter at Te Awa.

Thanks Frank (& the other guests), we had a GREAT day....& not hungover today.

Thank GooseGirl555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranklyToursNZ, Owner at Frankly Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Hi Goosegirl, thank you for your review it was a pleasure meeting you both and showcasing a slice of Hawke's Bay. They say life is too short to drink cheap wine therefore no hangover:) all the best down in the beautiful South Island.
Cheers Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frankly Tours also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Frankly Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing