We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and Best Wine Tour”
Review of Frankly Tours

Frankly Tours
Ranked #1 of 33 Food & Drink in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Frankly Tours specializes in daily tours of selected Hawke's Bay boutique wineries, craft breweries and artisan food producers. Hawke's Bay is regarded as the food and wine basket of New Zealand with a rich and diverse selection of produce in agriculture, viticulture and horticulture.Frankly Tours NZ Ltd is owned and operated by Hawke's Bay local Frank Heuser, a proud 5th generation kiwi. ​With 30 years experience in the Hawke's Bay wine Industry, hospitality and tourism, Frank is a well known personality within the wine, beer and artisan food producer families of Hawke's Bay. With his knowledge, contacts and personable style Frank is proud to share all that is wonderful about Hawke's Bay . `Quite frankly, it's about showing new friends around the area I love - the people, the producers and our beautiful region.'
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We came down and were staying in Napier for the weekend.
Frank was prompt and his vehicle was new and very well turned out.
We did the full day and had a pick of some of the wineries as we were the only group on in the morning
Fantastic commentary and very knowledgeable on area and wine!

Lunch at Mission was superb and final visit to Roosters brewery was a perfect end to the day

Thank RichardS946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranklyToursNZ, Owner at Frankly Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you Richard for taking the time to review and attaching the lovely photos. It was a pleasure meeting you all on a full day tour and to know you enjoyed the day.
Enjoy your bucket list travels next week in the USA.
Cheers Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"craft brewery"
in 6 reviews
"wine industry"
in 13 reviews
"great knowledge of the local area"
in 2 reviews
"final visit"
in 2 reviews
"wine tour"
in 13 reviews
"delicious platter"
in 3 reviews
"day tour"
in 5 reviews
"boutique wineries"
in 4 reviews
"beer tasting"
in 2 reviews
"larger wineries"
in 2 reviews
"hawkes bay"
in 10 reviews
"perfect guide"
in 2 reviews
"in depth knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"memorable afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"excellent value for money"
in 3 reviews
"amazing tour"
in 2 reviews
"door to door service"
in 2 reviews
Filter

22 - 26 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2018

Thanks to all the great Reviewers previously, you are spot on FRANK, offers a fun and informative day!
...top notch tour....
A clean & comfortable bus, great commentary on winery's , history and the region.
4 great wineries, and one beer pub (classic kiwi venue), accompanied by a gorgeous share platter at Te Awa.

Thanks Frank (& the other guests), we had a GREAT day....& not hungover today.

Thank GooseGirl555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranklyToursNZ, Owner at Frankly Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Hi Goosegirl, thank you for your review it was a pleasure meeting you both and showcasing a slice of Hawke's Bay. They say life is too short to drink cheap wine therefore no hangover:) all the best down in the beautiful South Island.
Cheers Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Frank picked me at my hostel and drove us for 4 hours in 4 wineries. The wines were excellent, a good selection of wineries, the highlights on the road interesting. I had a wonderful afternoon thanks to Frank! It really a fair price for this tour (half a day). A must do in Napier !

Thank Renan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranklyToursNZ, Owner at Frankly Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Hi Renan thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Frankly Tours, it was a pleasure meeting you and guiding you around our Hawke's Bay wineries.
Cheers Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing time doing this activity. Frank is kind and awesome. Well, I think this is the best way to do this kind of activity. If you’re looking for something great to do book a tour with Frank!

Thank 257marieeveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranklyToursNZ, Owner at Frankly Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Hi 257marieeveg, thank you for the lovely review and recommendation. It was a pleasure meeting you and showcasing Hawkes Bay delights to you all. Cheers Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2018

In Greece it's the Parthenon , in New York City the Statue of Liberty, in Paris the Eiffle Tower. Well in Hawkes Bay it's Frankly Tours. Frank took us on an amazing tour. He is incredibly knowledgeable and fun. His tour is perfectly arranged and suited for anyone. Without knowing what you're looking for, Frank is the guy you want, nay, that you need to take you on this kind of tour. If you're unsure, simply look around at how well he is respected and apprecited in the industry - something that is made abundantly clear at every winery or brewery he takes you to. I can't imagine a better value for your money. Frank spoils you both with his time and his knowledge as well as other surprise goodies. Do yourself a favour and book a tour with Frank asap!

Thank adamszoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranklyToursNZ, Owner at Frankly Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Hi Adam, your review is one of a kind! :) Thank you for the feedback and lovely words, it was an utter pleasure meeting you all and showcasing you a slice of Hawke's Bay. Yes agree, our food and wine producers are the Statue of Liberties of our region, if they didn't exist, I wouldn't! these guys are like a family, I acknowledge their passion and am grateful that I can introduce like minded people to their craft!
Enjoy your remaining days in NZ with the biggest congratulations for your forthcoming special day in Central Otago.
Cheers Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frankly Tours also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Frankly Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing