We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dirk568
Auckland, New Zealand

Good motel in handy position

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Oct 2017
This is a good motel for a quick stay. The motel was built in the older style which means bigger rooms. The room was very clean. This motel also has actual soap for hand wash and shower important for me because those (now regrettably common) liquid dispensers give me skin irritation.

Supermarket and other convenience shops are close by - 3 minute walk.

Unfortunately one draw back was the shortage of kitchenware - no frying pan. We had to purchase one at the supermarket. The reason is that the owners are very sensitive about cooking smells. In my view a reasonable warning should be sufficient. We used our purchased frying pan and left no smells.
Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$212
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Agoda.com
3.7 km from Pania Lodge Motels Napier
Free Wifi
Free parking
$179
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $179
3.8 km from Pania Lodge Motels Napier
Free Wifi
Beachfront
$167
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Pania Lodge Motels Napier
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Dome, Napier, New Zealand . Look carefully we are the 2 tiny spots on the penthouse floor.
$259
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
3.8 km from Pania Lodge Motels Napier
Free Wifi
$84
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
3.8 km from Pania Lodge Motels Napier
Free Wifi
Free parking
$185
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $150
  • Priceline
    $145
  • Hotels.com
    $150
4.0 km from Pania Lodge Motels Napier
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $131
  • Expedia.com
    $138
3.1 km from Pania Lodge Motels Napier
Free Wifi
Free parking
External
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $126
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Pania Lodge Motels Napier
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $128
  • Algotels
3.2 km from Pania Lodge Motels Napier
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 Bedroom Villa Master Bedroom
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $37
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Pania Lodge Motels Napier
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Napier
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
20
18
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
20
18
7
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Stayed here over the long weekend and was pleasantly surprised with the place. Although rooms are slightly outdated they are still very clean and well presented with everything you need for a night away including great customer service. Recommend taking ear plugs if you are a light sleeper though as the rooms are not very sound proof and you hear everything your room mates are talking about.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemz2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

While the motel is more on the budget side, the room was lovely and large and warm and clean. For a one night stay it was perfect but could happily have stayed here for longer. For the price we thought it was excellent.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank anthonyc641
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

The motel is further out of town than I expected. No restaurants within walking distance. Room is nice and big and clean. But the shower had no shower curtain and the shower head let out water like a hose. So you have to shower in a huge room with water drizzling out and in May that is wayyy too cold. I decided not to shower the morning before we left because it was that bad.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank meaghanmeaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here with our baby and found it very central and handy to all great places Napier has to offer. Although a little dated, rooms are spick and span and serviced daily. Managers are very lovely and went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kekenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Pania was clean and comfortable for what we wanted we stayed in a large studio. I would ssay its and average size with a queen and a single bed. We were there for the colgate games so didnt spend alot of time in the room for 3.One thing i would say the
parking outside the rooms is not ideal to small gaps to park in and your park is not directly out

We stayed here in a large studio which had a queen and a single bein it. As we were there for the Colgate games . The room is average in size but has everything you need and was clean and tidy. Parking area is very small and cramped. But otherwise ok for the money. There was free wifi but we couldnt get onto it even with the password.

Room tip: All the rooms are in a row it isnt a big motel. So any room
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommy1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Panialodge, Owner at Pania Lodge Motels Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Thank you for this review. The car parking is right outside each room and ample for even vans and utes. You do not use a password to get Wi-Fi. I always explain that users use the voucher access code. Why did you not come to the office? Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews