We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Seefood86
Gisborne, New Zealand

Worst motel EVER

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Oct 2020via mobile
Do not stay here if: you are a paying customer, are of ethnic coloring, cook your own food...we were targeted from the start, had the cops called on us because apparently "we burnt a pan". We along with our 4month old child were treated horribly from these owners who classed us as "you people from winz"...we were sworn at, have never been so disgusted in people like these owners, racists and dirty.
Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$149
  • Priceline
    $157
  • ZenHotels.com
    $138
  • Expedia.com
    $149
3.8 km from Ace High Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
External
$174
  • Priceline
    $132
  • Agoda.com
    $127
  • Expedia.com
    $174
4.0 km from Ace High Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$211
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $215
  • Agoda.com
    $199
  • Algotels
    $238
4.3 km from Ace High Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$130
  • Priceline
    $130
  • Expedia.com
    $124
  • Hotels.com
    $130
4.0 km from Ace High Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$181
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
    $195
  • Agoda.com
    $146
  • Algotels
    $203
4.0 km from Ace High Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Quest Napier
$189
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $173
  • Agoda.com
    $163
  • Expedia.com
    $180
4.1 km from Ace High Motor Inn
Free Wifi
$179
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $179
  • Hotels.com
    $164
  • Expedia.com
    $173
4.5 km from Ace High Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Beachfront
$173
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $173
  • Agoda.com
    $139
  • Expedia.com
    $173
4.0 km from Ace High Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $165
  • Agoda.com
    $144
  • Expedia.com
    $165
4.7 km from Ace High Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 Bedroom Villa Master Bedroom
$165
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $165
  • ZenHotels.com
    $36
  • Vio.com
    $165
2.2 km from Ace High Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Napier
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
20
18
10
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
20
18
10
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2020

I come to Taradale regularly to visit an elderly relative in a care home. This time I stayed one night at the Ace High Motel. The owners are friendly and welcoming, the rooms are well priced, spacious and spotlessly clean. The wifi is strong and reliable and the kitchenette is well equipped. I will stay here again. Recommended.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 February 2020

Friendly, welcoming staff. Tidy accommodation, recently refurbished. Nice little pool to cool off in the Napier heat. Off street parking. Near main road but little traffic noise. Short drive to supermarket and main town centre.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bublefan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2020

We stayed for our New Year trip to Napier with multiple families. The rooms aren't modern but clean, and I can see the owner do make sure the place is great. The motel is close to the motorway but surprisingly I cannot hear the traffic. Possibly the best wifi I ever experienced in any motel. The owner and staff are very friendly, do go and ask for advice, as they know Napier and Hastings really well.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e_akl_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2020 via mobile

Contrary to photographs shown online, this is a rather tired, worn out and depreciated property, well overdue for a birthday upgrade.
My wife posted some honest feedback on booking.com, and nearly a week after we stayed there they retaliated by charging my credit card $70- without authorisation, ostensibly for a damaged pot, without any evidence, before or after photos. (We have not damaged any pots, and they had no pots worth $70- anyway).
Stay away.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Anver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
entered, Owner at Ace High Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2020

our terms and conditions state any breakage or damage will be charged to the guest
in this instance stainless steel pots were heated so badly they turned blue and our staff spent time everyday for 4 days trying to recover the pots, as this failed we charged the guests credit card $69.95 the cost of replacement
not the cost of replacing the full set which would have been $149.00
you cannot damage items in the unit and not be responsible

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2019 via mobile

We stayed for one night and absolutely loved it. Will definately be returning. The room was ideal for our stay, everything we needed and super clean and tidy. The lovely pool was just what was needed in the heat.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kekenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews