We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Chad Mckelvie
Foxton, New Zealand

Steer clear of this one

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Mar 2024
Probably one of the worst motels I've stayed at. I had to park on the street. Kitchenette consisted of an electric frying pan and a microwave but no cutlery and what was there was of no use( a potato peeler and masher)!! Bathroom was dirty and the road noise was terrible.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$210
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $240
  • Vio.com
    $207
  • Agoda.com
    $210
0.9 km from Marineland Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
Twin Queen Studio
$189
  • Expedia.com
    $174
  • Vio.com
    $168
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Marineland Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
$179
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $178
  • ZenHotels.com
    $176
  • Hotels.com
    $179
2.8 km from Marineland Motels
Free Wifi
Beachfront
$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $165
  • Agoda.com
    $152
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Marineland Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
Quest Napier
$175
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $166
  • Agoda.com
    $147
  • Priceline
2.6 km from Marineland Motels
Free Wifi
$207
  • Expedia.com
    $195
  • Vio.com
    $136
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Marineland Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
$149
  • Expedia.com
    $149
  • Tripadvisor
    $149
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Marineland Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
External
$174
  • Expedia.com
    $174
  • Vio.com
    $132
  • Priceline
3.2 km from Marineland Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 Bedroom Villa Master Bedroom
$82
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $51
  • Vio.com
    $82
2.7 km from Marineland Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
$170
  • Tripadvisor
    $163
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $163
3.2 km from Marineland Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Napier
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
78
56
20
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
78
56
20
10
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2019

We booked this motel in May 2018 through a very reputable travel agent but arrived on 14th February 2019 to be advised by the motel management that they had double-booked our room and our reservation had been cancelled. They stated that they had emailed our agent of this problem two months ago but this was not received. The motel management then expressed a view that we should have contacted them directly, prior to arrival, to confirm the booking which is something I have never been required to do at any of the hotels I have previously stayed in!

However, our “luck was in” as they had just received a cancellation for an upgraded premium room with sea-view. Unfortunately, our poor experience with this motel continued as we discovered the bed made up with no sheeting, soiled laundry, no lighting in the bathroom, no waste bins and a generally poor standard of cleaning.

In our three weeks travelling through New Zealand, we have enjoyed fantastic stays at many hotels and appartments, with excellent customer service and high quality accommodation ... with the single exception of Marineland Motel, Napier. Our advice to other travellers is avoid this place and find better accommodation more central in Napier.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinacooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2018

I booked 4 nights accommodation via Barrhead Travel (Scotland) during May 2018 at this location. On arrival at Napier airport from Auckland I travelled by taxi to the motel. ONLY TO FIND THAT THERE WAS NO AVAILABLE ROOMS, THE MANAGEMENT HAD CANCELLED MY BOOKING A WEEK PREVIOUSLY. THE MANAGER STATED THAT THEY INFORMED MY TRAVEL AGENCY. This event occurred at 3.30pm, yes I am 75years old. It was only a taxi driver who found me a suitable hotel (Scenic Hotel) which I recommend. I strongly advise that if you require accommodation in Napier DO NOT ATTEMPT TO RESERVE SUCH AT THE MARINELAND MOTEL..

Room tip: Don’t go there, book other accommodation elsewhere in Napier.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank roger m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

We have spent many nights at Marineland Motel over the past few years for IronMaori events and while our daughter was at Boarding School in Napier. The room was always clean, the pool loveley to swim in and was a perfect place for families. We stopped over the night in august and the first thing we noticed was the smell of the room when we walked in. It stunk of what I think was stale smoke. When I opened the bed up to go to bed I accidentally pulled the bottom sheet up and was horrified to find ants crawling all over the mattress protector ( which was dirty). There were also dead ants. The guy came in and changed the protector. It looked like it hadn’t been cleaned for ages. The room felt cheap and nasty room and not at all worth the $200 room we had paid for. It was disgusting. A room designed for four only had one teaspoon and two forks in it cutlery wise and one knife. This place was paru. What a waste of a once beautiful motel. Please someone come and buy it and restore it to its former glory. On another note, we had booked to stay there later this year but after this visit decided to ring and cancel. A search comes up saying that Marineland motel is now permanently closed and no one answers the phone. We didn’t receive any notice that our booking was cancelled. Poor Marineland motel.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank HinemoanaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Over the past six years I have stayed at the Marineland Motel and have experienced excellent levels of hospitality, quality accommodation and service without complaint all under the control of Carol and Evan. The continental breakfasts were more than adequate and the restaurant was excellent with room service at no extra cost if required. However, at some point over the last eighteen months Carol and Evan retired from the hotelier business and the motel was sold. When I visited last year the same levels of quality and service had been maintained but this week (27 August 2018) was a great disappointment. The young man on reception had only been in the country a week and didn't know how to produce a gst receipt for my payment in advance. When I explained that I wanted to settle on departure so that the invoice included breakfasts I was advised that breakfasts were no longer available and when I asked about the restaurant I was told that it was no longer in operation but was advised that there was an Indian restaurant that would deliver as would Dominos Pizzas! If I hadn't paid I would have walked at that point but a refund was not possible. When I entered my room (Unit 7), although all rooms are advertised as non-smoking, the smell of tobacco smoke was overpowering and on reporting it to the guy on reception he returned to my room with a can of air freshener saying that would fix it. I pointed out to him that the drawers under the hanging rail would not open because the bottom of the top drawer had fallen through into the bottom drawer so neither would open; he said that he would tell the owner. There was an oil column heater in the room that was switched on when I entered but it switched itself off after a time. There was a built-in timer which was not set but when it was turned the heater switched on, and then off again after a time. This happened a couple more times then it seemed to settle down. The tobacco smoke smell had not really disappeared as it had permeated the fabric of the room, even the pillows and bedding. On my way out to dinner I called into the reception again and told the guy that has I known what I would be faced with I would never have booked. The heater switched off again at some point during the night when the outside temperature had been recorded as 1C. When I showered in the morning I found that the diverter didn't work and I could wash my hair and feet under running water at the same time. On my way out in the morning to find some breakfast I called into reception again and told the young lady in attendance this time that I wanted the heater changed and that I was very disappointed with the quality of the room. When I returned in the evening the heater hadn't been changed but it did seem to be functioning correctly so I didn't take that any further, but I did note that while the bed had been made and the wet bath towel and flannel had been replaced with ones that were just as grey as those that had been used (presumably they had been white at some time in their lives but no longer), the waste bins hadn't been emptied, the soap wrapper was still on top of the vanity and the toiletries hadn't been replenished. On the morning of my departure I decided to make a cup of tea but when I opened the cupboard door to remove the electric jug, it fell off. When I opened the door to the crockery cupboard the first mug that I picked out had a large chip out of the lip and a long crack. I did note that none of the electrical appliances carried tags to show that they had been tested and inspected for electrical safety as required by the Electrical (Safety) Regulations 2010 and AS/NZS 3760:2010. The curtains of the room were drawn both on my arrival and on my return on the second day but when I did look through it was clear that the small garden outside the room had not been tended for some considerable time. On checking out I advised the guy on reception that this had been the worst motel experience that I had ever had and that I would never, NEVER stay at the Marineland again. He had said that he would report my concerns to the owners but from a look at other similar negative reviews it seems that no other similar negative reports have been recorded so I very much doubt that my complaints would be, and if there is a response to this review I fully expect that it will be in that vein. Previously I had recommended the motel to a number of colleagues and friends but I would never, NEVER do that again. If Carol and Evan could experience what it was like now they would cry. It is being run down and under the previous ownership it was booked out most nights, the car parks were all full and the restaurant did good trade, but no longer. If it continues this way it won't be long before it closes because guests looking for quality accommodation will very soon realise that the Marineland is no longer the quality motel that it used to be. I wouldn't recommend this motel any more, not even to my worst ememy!

Room tip: Don't stay here - anywhere else can't be any worse
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank BobGreenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 August 2018

i had a lovely staff over there and the location of the motel is very great , very peaceful place.Have stayed here for over a week in an executive studio unit.the room was clean and comfy has a huge king bed a folder out couch.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RamK1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews