We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why I keep going back”
Review of Palate

Palate
Ranked #3 of 433 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Another great meal and pleasant atmosphere. Delivered by attentive staff. Give the duck entree a go you will be glad you did. The oysters as a starter. Venison for he main with eye fillet. There's more... But will leave for you try.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank nztraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 222 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2016

We had wanted to try this place for a long time having read all of the excellent reviews. We had walked past it several times and thought that it seemed quite elegant and was in a perfect spot above the river to get a lively view. While it is just of Victoria Street, it is nestled in the lower back part of a larger mixed use building with other restaurants and businesses with a large and beautiful deck overlooking the Waikato River.
The we arrived we were seated immediately at one of a couple of small tables for 2 in the dining room. We were struck by the unusual dining set up with most tables flanked on one side with
with an upholstered booth and two plain, but functional chairs.
The menu sounded delicious and was not so big as to not be able to decide what to get.
We started with cocktails while we surveyed the facility. It was much smaller than I imagined it would be. It is an open kitchen concept with those sitting at one end being able to watch as the food is prepared.
The food was very well prepared and plated befitting the elegant surroundings. All the things we tried were superbly made and more than met our hopes and expectations.
Our server was very personable and welcoming, but when it had been over an hour since we had finished our starters, he was nowhere to be seen and, when seen, it was difficult to get his attention. We finally did make contact and asked what was going on. I was ready to leave due both to the delay in getting our mains, but also because of the lack of communication about it. The server did apologise profusely for the delay and gave an explanation for the tardiness that seemed unfortunate, but plausible. However, there was no offer to compensate us for their mistakes which caused this unacceptable delay.
The restaurant was quite expensive, but we felt that the quality of the food and the beverages justified the prices. I think that at the very least the manager or chef should have come out to talk to us and apologise for and explain the delay.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank yummyrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

I can't rate this restaurant highly enough. The location is lovely and food is Masterchef spectacular and the service impeccable. The meals are not large but we ate 3 courses and felt just right afterward.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank ianleighm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2016

went here for just a few drinks after work
and decided to take a look at the menu...very happy that we did!!
the food is amazing ....so fresh and so yummy...such a stunning menu!!!
great wine menu too
service was brilliant
the restaurant itself is very tastefully decorated
will be back for more

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Brycee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

Excellent as always. I think this is the best restaurant in New Zealand. A real food journey, stunning. This time the service was also excellent, sometimes in the past, the service has been good, but not excellent.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank GerryBuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Palate also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Palate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.