We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fine dinning”
Review of Palate

Palate
Ranked #3 of 433 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

Presented well, everything on the plate beautiful, small portions favour quality over quantity but very satisfying so you want just a little bit more.

Venison cooked beautifully, pork belly moist with good crackle.

Perhaps one of the best mushrooms I have every had. An explosion of flavour. Might have been smoked salt?

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank LincolnA453
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 245 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2016

Ate there recently with a work colleague and glad we did. Initially thought it was a different menu as we must have come in a side door noting indian food but still a great spot.
Staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was great. We had the tuna and calamari entree and the mix of flavours was perfect. The tuna was cooked well, not overdone and not underdone and the mix of this flavour with the warm calamari, pepper seasoning and sides was great. I had the beef fillet with ravioli and was impressed again with how well everything was cooked. The ravioli ragu was tender and fell apart in my mouth and the fillet was exactly as i like it.
Dessert for me was the mousse with peanut brittle and salted caramel ice cream. About time someone got the right level of salt and gave it a little kick. Fantastic ice cream and the mousse was pretty good all round with the brittle.
Great meal and solid service.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Lovely atmosphere, attentive staff and delicious food. Great attention to detail. Second visit in the last twelve months and sure to return, especially for a special occasion.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SouthernMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Attention to flavour and visual detail you can't find anywhere else in Hamilton. Staff are amazing too

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank dandkmullin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

I surprised my husband with a degustation at Palate.

They seated us in a little vip area elevated from the main restaurant were we could see a bit of the action in the kitchen

There were a total of 5 courses plus a really cute intriguing Amuse-bouche. The courses were delicious, inventive and cutting edge.

One course stood out as a little strange to me and it was a wagu beef dish where the wagu had been turned into a form of gelatinous jerky. I didn't much like this one but I applaude the chefs for being so daring.

My favourite course was the desert which essentially was a tasting of apples prepared in different ways. It was lovely to finish up on and a Hapuka dish (my husband doesn't like fish but this ended up being his absolute favourite)

A note on one of the serving staff. I think perhaps we had a new girl but she forgot what the first course was and stumbled A bit. We didn't see her again for the rest of the night.

Palate is not only a restaurant that serves good food. It's an experience. Be prepared for a bit of a
Journey ;)

Date of visit: May 2015
Thank Cory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Palate also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Palate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.