We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grandparents morning out”
Review of Hamilton Zoo

Hamilton Zoo
Ranked #2 of 64 things to do in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The North Island's largest Zoo is home to over 600 native and exotic animals and set amidst 25ha of lush and tranquil surroundings
Ohaupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Grandparents morning out”
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

On arrival we were greeted by a lovely staff member who gave us directions on which way to go. With grandson in toe we went on our way. Was an enjoyable morning lots of animals to see. Grandson enjoyed the playground as well. Would go again when he gets older.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Marina0072014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    226
    38
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
307 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great Small Zoo competes with Zoos in larger citys”
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Have been to Hamilton Zoo a couple of times before never disappoints, went this time with visiting family and they were impressed at size of compounds and that the animals had lots of room and plenty to do. It is a smaller zoo and does not have a huge variety of animals some larger Zoos do, but what they do have are interesting and well displayed, I have been advised they are expanding in the next year with a farm yard kids interactive area and a lion compound, look forward to taking my grand daughter back in a year or two.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Zoo”
Reviewed 3 March 2017

I've been to quite a few Zoos all over the world, Hamilton Zoo is by far one of the more spacious Zoos i've visited. The enclosures were massive (compared to Tokyo Ueno Zoo...) and the animals appeared to not be stressed at all.

Too top that off they were handing free ice lollies they day we visited as well due to the high temperature!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank gahdjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great”
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

It is best to go as early as possible that way you actually get to see most of the animals other than that it was an awesome day out!!

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank mrspene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Auckland versus Hamilton zoo”
Reviewed 1 March 2017

I took my cousin here from the USA hadn't seen her in 40 years . My son lives in Hamilton and I was tossing up Auckland again or Hamilton as we had a already had a few trips to Auckland. Well it was a very hot day Jamie had to meet my son so off we went. We both thoroughly enjoyed it the park been surrounded with lots of beautiful trees for shade that was required on the day. The birds were beautiful all the enclosures were very large the animals looked well cared for the staff were very informative and happy to help and answer our questions. We were impressed. We enjoyed the day so much took some beautiful photos, shame about no elephant but hey we cant have everything.. Maybe a kiwi one day would just perfect the Zoo.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Clarkeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hamilton Zoo also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Hamilton Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing