We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fish meal”
Review of Speights Ale House

Speights Ale House
Ranked #39 of 427 Restaurants in Hamilton
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Speights Ale House in Hamilton is perfectly situated between two of Hamiltons great focal points; the Waikato River and Waikato Stadium. It's the ideal place to meet before or after a stadium event, be it rugby or a concert. The bar may be modern but you'll enjoy the rustic decor with schist rock, exposed wooden beams and copper piping creating a true southern ambience. The menu has hearty southern fare and has its own quirky personality - we reckon it's the only menu featuring 'Moa' or 'Arran's Sore Ribs'. All of which tastes even better when accompanied by and award winning Speights ale off the tap.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Best blue cod meal I have had for long time also generous portion although did order large size friend had steak which they also said was good

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Jow64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Speights Ale House offers a good menu, friendly service and a pleasant environment. An added bonus is their kids menu. Prices are good too.
We been many times and have yet to be disappointed.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LynIsMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018

Travelled to Hamilton early to avoid the traffic before the show. Had great experience in Invercargill's one, so thought we'd try this franchise.

Both the meats in the meals were slightly over-cooked - not so much to make it unpleasant, but not as ordered. the rest of the food was lovely.

What irked us most was that we made a booking at 5.00pm with the early bird special in mind - free desssert with ain between 4 and 6. I had checked the day before and was told it was to be ordered by 6, which is what we did (well before). At no time were the terms and conditions explained by any of the wait staff, and then when we went tp pay (6.20) and queried the bill, we were told that it had to be ordered and paid for before 6. My submissions were heard but over-ridden, albeit with an apology - the customer clearly isn't always right. Had the conditions been explained properly either time, we could have easily complied - we were only after 6 as we had an hour to kill and so relaxed after eating.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TAGman810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Called here Saturday afternoon, several tv screens showing the rugby which we really enjoyed. Not rugby fans at all.
Not much choice in drinks, it's Speights and that's it.
A jug represents the best value.
After a few beers we moved round to the dining area and ordered food. Average wait time, I got the rump steak and garlic mushrooms. Wow.....it was delicious. Absolutely lovely meal.
Tried to get someone's attention to order more drinks, really tough though we finally managed it.
I'd definitely recommend this place.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank JohnK269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018

We decided to eat here on Tuesday night. There was a pub quiz night so the place was busy but not too intrusive. The meals were really lovely and very generous.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank PerthMumof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speights Ale House also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing