We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$107
View deal
Hotels.com
US$112
View deal
Agoda.com
US$95
View deal
Expedia.comUS$112
PricelineUS$103
TravelocityUS$112
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
42
110
89
51
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
42
110
89
51
33
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2020 via mobile

I regularly stay at other Distinction properties in Dunedin, Christchurch and Wellington for work hence decided to stay here for pleasure as we were visiting friends near Hamilton for New Years. It appears as if this property has been acquired by the group and whilst you can see some changes are underway it is very tired and dated. Hotel was very quiet as it was NYE and hotel is not really CBD located. Room was absolutely adequate for a decent nights sleep and a hot shower. Nowhere near the standard of other hotels on the group. If you regularly stay particularly in Dunedin or Christchurch and expect a similar experience you’ll be sorely disappointed. For a $150-175 per night property though it’s a decent enough option with free parking and good access to the motorway.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank adsnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. You are correct- we are not the same as the Dunedin and Christchurch hotels. As you observed work is ongoing at the hotel and Hamilton is a very very quiet place over Christmas and New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2019

Happily I was only in this place for the night. Dirty, shabby surroundings. House spiders lurking in every corner (a sure sign it isn’t being cleaned properly) a shower that I could pee faster than. Limited range of Sky channels. My bed had huge dips on both sides and a jump in the middle. Unwelcoming staff. Paper thin walls. Foul filthy carpet in the dining room. Food was the saving grace. A lovely dinner and comprehensive offering at breakfast.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank KateRussell65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2019

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is a shame that you checked out without passing any of your comments to the hotel staff about your stay. We then could have explained that your travel agent had booked you into an unfurbished standard room. These rooms are not dirty but old. Spiders being present will be because the window has been left open and are is reflection of the cleaning of the room. Unfortunately the beds are also old and due for replacement soon. Our carpets have been cleaned in the last month and perhaps the soiling you saw was because a guest had dropped something that morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2019

The Distinction Hotel Hamilton does not have rooms that are accessible for a person with a disability. There is no fixed shower seat in the shower and no handle at all on the bathroom door. The toilet is too low for a slide transfer.
The rooms do not comply with the NZealand standard NZS 4121:2001. At all.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pamela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2019

Thank you for taking time to write a review. Our 4 newly refurbished accessible rooms do comply with all required NZ standards. If you had let the hotel know of your concerns during your stay we would have been able to discus this with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2019

The room was nice but the shower was an absolute disgrace. I didn`t want to shower there but had to. Grout was mold stained, shower rose was dreadful, no water pressure and water started to go cold. Light switch for bed lamp was very dirty, don`t think it had ever been wiped down.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 339deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback.
Unfortunately the showers are aged and the grouting is a dark colour- it is not mould. If you had let someone know at the hotel that you were worried about this we could have assisted you immediately. Unfortunately now we do not even know which room you are referring to. We always appreciate being given the opportunity to correct any problems whilst our guests are at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2019

Had a room in Wing 5. Check in was easy and all seemed to go well. Room looked clean enough except for the shower which looked very average. After 2 days I rang reception as we had no hot water. Apparently they are on cylinder and once the water goes it needs to reheat. Need to wait half an hour or go to the gym for a shower!! The bed leg kept falling off the bed (maintenance came 3 times), The sheets were not changed for 6 nights and that was only because I went to reception and asked for them to be changed. There are signs everywhere asking you not to leave your windows open when not in the room yet each day we came back to the room and the windows were open (housekeeping), except for the day we were not serviced at all. Once we came back to no towels in the room. The ultimate was the Rugby. When we checked in we got a note with the wifi password (which never worked) and told we would have Spark sport. Sitting there 11.30pm waiting for the rugby and NOTHING. Rang reception and was told it must be running late and the tele in the bar was the same? Really !!! Rang home and it was 28 minutes into the game. The reason I have given this a poor rather than terrible was the breakfast was nice.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank camillatcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews