We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
nancyolah
Fort Mill, South Carolina

An incredibly beautiful beginning to our NZ adventure

Review of The Monastery
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Mar 2020
Our three night stay at The Monastery was an incredibly lovely and relaxing oasis far away from the hustle and bustle of Auckland. Despite a lengthy flight from the US, we decided to bypass Auckland and head directly to this quaint Bed and Breakfast about midway between Hamilton and Cambridge - and are so pleased we did!

Shane and Paula are kind and gracious hosts, and they have lovingly created an incorporable experience in their historic home for travelers fortunate enough to find them. We were the only guests for our three-night stay and found the accommodations to be comfortable and well appointed. Although our bathroom was a tad tight for two, we recognize that this is property was built in 1906, and found it modern and more than adequate for our needs.

We enjoyed roaming the lovely and spacious grounds, and loved the fact that our morning breakfast had fresh picked tomatoes and spinach from Shane’s garden and eggs from their hens. The stewed plums were also from their orchard, the honey from their bees, and they make their own luscious home made yogurt. Shane also makes his own hard cider from five different kinds of apple trees in their orchard and was kind to offer it as an aperitif before we ventured out to dinner each evening.

The quiet and relaxing atmosphere was the perfect balm to our travel weary bodies and we slept soundly each night on our comfortable queen bed. We enjoyed being greeted by Billie, their sweet dog (named for Billie Holliday), and valued Shane’s suggestions for dinner in Cambridge. I did my yoga and meditated in the front parlor and thought we had the perfect amount of privacy balanced by friendly interaction with our cordial hosts.

We heartily recommend The Monastery, and would love to return.
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$199
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $192
  • Hotels.com
    $187
  • StayForLong
4.6 km from The Monastery
Free Wifi
Free parking
$223
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $197
  • Agoda.com
    $187
  • Hotels.com
    $204
4.6 km from The Monastery
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family Suite
$175
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $140
  • Agoda.com
    $120
  • Hotels.com
    $140
3.1 km from The Monastery
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Studio
$184
  • Expedia.com
    $174
  • Hotels.com
    $172
  • Trip.com
5.5 km from The Monastery
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
$239
  • ibis
    $239
  • Expedia.com
    $239
  • Hotels.com
    $239
6.3 km from The Monastery
Restaurant
Room service
Health club  fitness center  gym
$143
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $143
  • Agoda.com
    $108
  • Hotels.com
    $143
6.0 km from The Monastery
Free Wifi
Deluxe
$99
  • Expedia.com
    $89
  • Agoda.com
    $88
  • Priceline
    $99
6.0 km from The Monastery
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hamilton
$255
  • Expedia.com
    $236
  • Agoda.com
    $208
  • Hotels.com
    $236
6.7 km from The Monastery
Free Wifi
$299
Fully refundable
  • Novotel
    $299
  • Expedia.com
    $299
  • Hotels.com
    $299
6.2 km from The Monastery
Restaurant
Room service
$179
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $163
  • Agoda.com
    $146
  • Trip.com
10.6 km from The Monastery
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hamilton
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
4
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
4
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 30 April 2019 via mobile

We booked The Monastery while driving through the North Island as we wanted somewhere as a base for visits to Waitomo and Hobbiton, when we arrived we immediately realised we had stumbled across somewhere rather special. Shane and Paula (and Billie the dog) made us feel so welcome during our short stay, showing us around the grounds and providing us with lots of local tips (and plenty of home made cider and cake). They were always friendly without ever being intrusive and were readily available should we need anything.

The breakfast was also exceptional with a great deal of home made produce and plentiful tea and coffee.

We stayed for 4 nights and would have happily stayed longer, thanks again for having us!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ShaneW1753, Owner at The Monastery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2019

Our pleasure Matt. Thanks for the great review. Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for only one night and would have liked to stay longer. The host Shane was very welcoming and on arrival we were given tea and coffee and delicious chocolate cake. We went from here to Hobbiton so could not enjoy the wonderful garden. Our room was a loft room and was lovely. Comfortable bed and views over the garden. In the morning we had cereal and yogurt, coffee and tea and a cooked breakfast of eggs ( from owners chicken), locally made soda bread, manuka honey bacon and homegrown tomatoes. Best breakfast of our trip. The house was amazing and had been a monastery until 1990. The dining room was spacious and grand, there were two sitting rooms which could be used by the guests. The place had a very homely feel a lovely place to stay.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carolbrownlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ShaneW1753, Owner at The Monastery, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2019

Thanks for your positive feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2019 via mobile

Spent an over night here and was a great decision . Great host , informative yet not intrusive . Beautiful location where you can meander , read , snooze . Topped off with a beautiful breakfast . If you are wanting quiet , peaceful and beautiful then we recommend you check in here

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Matts1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2019

This is a former monastery that has been tastefully converted into a BnB. The place is simply gorgeous, Our room with en-suite was beautifully decorated and had a most comfortable bed. The public areas, for example dining and sitting rooms had a charm about them. The property had extensive gardens and even a large veg garden. Shane was a perfect host, also provided a delicious breakfast. Would have liked to stay there longer but our schedule could not accommodate. No problem with parking.

Room tip: I would think all rooms are of an excellent standard.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ShaneW1753, Owner at The Monastery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

Thanks Greg, appreciate your positive feedback. Hope to see you both again sometime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews