We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average museum ”
Review of Waikato Museum

Waikato Museum
Ranked #5 of 67 things to do in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Haere mai and welcome to Waikato Museum Te Whare Taonga o Waikato. Situated on the banks of the mighty Waikato River, this world-class museum is the artistic and cultural heart of the Waikato.Visit us to experience the stories of our art, history, culture and science through an inspirational programme which seeks to challenge and inspire. Open daily 10am-5pm.
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

We had some time to kill in Hamilton on a rainy day so called into the museum, it's free entry except for the special exhibits. It was a nice enough museum but nothing special that little kids would be interested in (compared to te papa in Wellington and te manawa in Palmerston North), so this limited our time there. Worth a visit if you are in Hamilton anyway.

Thank deejay153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaikatoMuseum, Online Coordinator at Waikato Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Kia ora,

Thanks for visiting.

Ngaa mihi,
Jens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2017

We spent most of our time in the WWI Centenary Exhibition. We took our time going from place to place and reading the stories of their experiences during and post war. It was well set out for small groups and would have been a little harder to follow when there is a crowd in place.

Thank Kiwiintheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaikatoMuseum, Online Coordinator at Waikato Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Kia ora,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to our 'For Us They Fell' exhibition.

Ngaa mihi,
Jens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

Don't miss this jewel. It has a very interesting War exhibit. Milk Matters was cool, too. AND the dinosaurs move as you approach - pretty cool if you ask us.

Thank GRS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaikatoMuseum, Online Coordinator at Waikato Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Kia Ora!

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our exhibitions! Hope to see you soon.

Ngaa mihi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We visited the Museum to see the pre-dinosaur exhibition with our son and daughter-in-law and two and a half year old granddaughter. The uncovering of the trilobites was her favourite! Then we visited Exscite, the science area directed at children, and we had a wonderful time there. Lots of hands on things to experience. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Thank satch58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaikatoMuseum, Online Coordinator at Waikato Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Kia ora,

Thanks so much for visiting! It sound like you and your family had a great time with our Permian Monsters and Excite exhibitions.

Nga mihi,
Jens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

A good small museum with a good history of the Waikato. Alot of "hands on" stuff for children. Depending on whats on at the time ranges from great to ok. A great place for children, expect to spend a couple of hours there especially if you have children with you.

Thank cockies2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaikatoMuseum, Online Coordinator at Waikato Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Kia ora,

Thanks for your visit and for bringing your grandson along. Hope to see you again soon.

Nga mihi,
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waikato Museum also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Waikato Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing