We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filling in some time”
Review of Waikato Museum

Waikato Museum
Ranked #5 of 67 things to do in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Haere mai and welcome to Waikato Museum Te Whare Taonga o Waikato. Situated on the banks of the mighty Waikato River, this world-class museum is the artistic and cultural heart of the Waikato.Visit us to experience the stories of our art, history, culture and science through an inspirational programme which seeks to challenge and inspire. Open daily 10am-5pm.
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Had some good displays and was a nice place to fill in some time on a rainy day. We only looked in the areas that were free, there were two other displays on at the time that were interactive and you could pay to see. Was interesting Bob Marley section that is there for a short period.

Thank Pauapatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
There are newer reviews for Waikato Museum
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2017

A lovely airy museum with a large Waka in the foyer, and WW1 displays which covered the Waikato area

Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JensLoeg, Online Coordinator at Waikato Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Kia ora Karen,

Thank you for taking time to review our museum.

Ngaa mihi,
Waikato Museum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Visited here when they had the DaVinci exhibits & that was wonderful! It was incredible to learn just how much that man achieved in his lifetime. The rest of the museum was quite different - in a good way. There's an area for the kids to learn & it's just as fun for the adults as it is for the kids. The WW1 memorial was touching but it honestly takes up an enormous amount of the museum. We must remember, yes, but there is a lot that has happened since then as well. Fascinating area on the Maori's - always interesting to learn about their history. All in all, a must on your list if you live here. If you're visiting, unless they have a very exciting travelling exhibit like the DaVinci one, I wouldn't go in.

Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JensLoeg, Online Coordinator at Waikato Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Kia ora Ashley,

Thank you for visiting and reviewing our service. We hope to see you back one day!

Ngaa Mihi
Waikato Museum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

I took the kids here over christmas and not only did they have the fun zone but also a free santa hunt which the kids loved! Staff are always friendly and more than helpful

Thank kes38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JensLoeg, Online Coordinator at Waikato Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Kia ora,

It sounds like you had a great day with the family at the museum! We hope to see you and your family back one day.

Ngaa mihi,
Waikato Museum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Absolutely loved and enjoyed my experience here. With so many different things to see this museum is suitable for all ages. Also the staff are all so friendly.

Thank chervawnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JensLoeg, Online coordinator at Waikato Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Kia ora,

Thanks for visiting - we look forward to seeing you again one day!

Ngaa mihi,
Waikato Museum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waikato Museum also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Waikato Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing