We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filling in some time”
Review of Waikato Museum

Waikato Museum
Ranked #5 of 64 things to do in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Haere mai and welcome to Waikato Museum Te Whare Taonga o Waikato. Situated on the banks of the mighty Waikato River, this world-class museum is the artistic and cultural heart of the Waikato.Visit us to experience the stories of our art, history, culture and science through an inspirational programme which seeks to challenge and inspire. Open daily 10am-5pm.
Feilding, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Filling in some time”
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Had some good displays and was a nice place to fill in some time on a rainy day. We only looked in the areas that were free, there were two other displays on at the time that were interactive and you could pay to see. Was interesting Bob Marley section that is there for a short period.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Pauapatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    97
    26
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hamilton museum”
Reviewed 7 March 2017

A lovely airy museum with a large Waka in the foyer, and WW1 displays which covered the Waikato area

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JensLoeg, Online Coordinator at Waikato Museum, responded to this review, 25 May 2017
Kia ora Karen,

Thank you for taking time to review our museum.

Ngaa mihi,
Waikato Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little museum”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Visited here when they had the DaVinci exhibits & that was wonderful! It was incredible to learn just how much that man achieved in his lifetime. The rest of the museum was quite different - in a good way. There's an area for the kids to learn & it's just as fun for the adults as it is for the kids. The WW1 memorial was touching but it honestly takes up an enormous amount of the museum. We must remember, yes, but there is a lot that has happened since then as well. Fascinating area on the Maori's - always interesting to learn about their history. All in all, a must on your list if you live here. If you're visiting, unless they have a very exciting travelling exhibit like the DaVinci one, I wouldn't go in.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JensLoeg, Online Coordinator at Waikato Museum, responded to this review, 25 May 2017
Kia ora Ashley,

Thank you for visiting and reviewing our service. We hope to see you back one day!

Ngaa Mihi
Waikato Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Great for the kids”
Reviewed 22 February 2017

I took the kids here over christmas and not only did they have the fun zone but also a free santa hunt which the kids loved! Staff are always friendly and more than helpful

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank kes38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JensLoeg, Online Coordinator at Waikato Museum, responded to this review, 25 May 2017
Kia ora,

It sounds like you had a great day with the family at the museum! We hope to see you and your family back one day.

Ngaa mihi,
Waikato Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Class Trip”
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Absolutely loved and enjoyed my experience here. With so many different things to see this museum is suitable for all ages. Also the staff are all so friendly.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank chervawnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JensLoeg, Online coordinator at Waikato Museum, responded to this review, 25 May 2017
Kia ora,

Thanks for visiting - we look forward to seeing you again one day!

Ngaa mihi,
Waikato Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waikato Museum also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Waikato Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing