We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
93
92
58
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
92
58
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tower block across the road busy intersection free wifi comfortable bed would stay again laundry facilities secure parking road noise plenty of parking stayed here for nights nice room central location the main street heat pump supermarket bp
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights when in Hamilton for work.

Wasn’t to bad, plenty of parking which was good.
There is a supermarket across the road and a few fast food spots real close.
A shorter walk down into the city gives you a greater range of food and restaurants.

The room itself was dated but clean and tidy. Not to much road noise, so slept well.
Shower had good temperature and fantastic water pressure!
There was 5GB of free wifi, didn’t use it so not sure what the speeds were like.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 401PaulA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Hello Paul A

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we appreciate your feedback. we are lucky being on a larger property that we are able to offer our guest complimentary parking at the hotel.

We hope you welcome you back in the near future

Warm regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

I thought this was close to supermarkets and some fast food joints. I was staying on the ground unit of the tower little traffic noise even though it's on a busy intersection. I loved the room it was nice, comfy and clean. Would stay again

Date of stay: August 2017
Thank Georgina_Goble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Hello Georgina_Goble

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our newly refurbished room. we hope to welcome you back in the near future

Warm regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on our way to Kawhia for a family holiday. The rooms were clean but the shower was a bit run down and would not switch between the shower and bath effectively. We were left disappointed that the restaurant was advertised as being open for breakfast until 10am but closed at 8.30am due to not enough patronage. Hotel location was good.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Good Morning Drew H

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we appreciate your feedback. I do apologise for the restaurant closing early, other than that we do hope that you come see us again.

warm regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

My husband and I spent 2 nights with our 2 boys in a 1 bdrm retro unit on the 2nd floor. They upgraded our room with no extra charge. Room was perfect for us, warm, spacious, everything we needed. Room was serviced daily. Close to the city, Pak n Save across the road, kfc, subway, bp ect all walking distance. Very good!! Downfall, Very tiring if you are staying on the 2nd floor and have a lot of gear with you as there is no elevator. Laundry facilities were not functioning properly, but no one told us until after we had used them. Reimbursement was to be charged to card, as another company owns the laundry services. No change is given at reception as we asked but were told by staff even though it is stipulated in the info book. Overall it was a comfortable stay for our family but prob wont be back again.

Room tip: Tower buildings are non smoking, retro units allow smoking on balconys.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AkeshiaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Akeshia K

Thank you for taking the time to review the Retro Motel, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Sorry about the laundry facilities, we have now had this issue fixed with the provider. We do hope to see you back here again.

Warm regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

I stay at the Ambassador 2 to 3 times a month because I am made to feel very welcome.
Emma, Joseph, Judy, Shazia and all the other staff make me feel like I am staying with friends. Great location in the heart of Hamilton city, supermarket over the road and restaurant on site. Great chopices of takeways withing 100 metres too. Safe carpark which is always important. Pricing is very good too.

Room tip: The older rooms are currently being upgraded and refurbished.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulH4341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassador_Team, Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Dear Paul H

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and especially our team members. They do such a great job. We look forward to welcoming you back n the New Year.

Warm regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews