We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Thai eatery”
Review of Chim Thai

Chim Thai
Ranked #4 of 430 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$23
Description: We are closed ANZAC DAY (​25th April). Welcome to Chim Thai! "Chim" in Thai means to taste. We take pride in our cuisine and its presentation.We believe in serving food that is good quality and made of the freshest ingredients. We are an authentic Thai restaurant located in Rototuna, Hamilton. Tease your taste buds with hot, sour, sweet and salty Thai cuisine with aromatic herbs and spices.
Restaurant details
Description: We are closed ANZAC DAY (​25th April). Welcome to Chim Thai! "Chim" in Thai means to taste. We take pride in our cuisine and its presentation.We believe in serving food that is good quality and made of the freshest ingredients. We are an authentic Thai restaurant located in Rototuna, Hamilton. Tease your taste buds with hot, sour, sweet and salty Thai cuisine with aromatic herbs and spices.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bright and cheery dining room, helpful and attentive staff, sensilbe menu. We enjoyed all the dishes we ordered - fresh ingredients and spicy without getting too carried away. And good value for money. Pretty much as advertised on the tin. We would definitely return.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank AllanJGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don, Owner at Chim Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the great review which is very much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2021 via mobile

We were excited to try a different Thai place than our usual as we love Thai food. It was very disappointing. The dishes were swimming in sauce that made it difficult to taste the fresh ingredients. As vegetarians, We would not recommend any of the dishes we had. The cooked vegetables were overdone but the biggest complaint was the heavy handed application of sauce. The salad was literally swimming in dressing and the Pad Thai noodles were limp. Service was friendly and helpful but we won’t be back anytime soon.

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don, Owner at Chim Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2021

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal. It is a pity that you did not raise your concerns with us when you were served and we could have done something about it then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2021

We booked in to Chim Thai for our 20th Wedding Anniversary as we've been quite a few times before & always had a beautiful dinner but last night was very disappointing. We decided to order something different from our usual hubby had deep fried whole fish which was totally overcooked as if it had been left in the deep fryer too long causing the fish to be dry & I had a Chicken Satay dish & the chicken was also vey dry & a very watery tasteless sauce.
Service was ok perhaps some table service training is required.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank merlot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don, Owner at Chim Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2021

Thank you very much for letting us know that you have been to Chim Thai quite a few times and always had a beautiful dinner. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your dinner last night. I understand your waitress did offer to return your meal to the kitchen. Whole fried fish can seem dry sometimes because time is required for it to cook right through. I suggest you try the steamed version next time. We hope you will be back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2021

We had a take away from here, so juts picked up our meal. The food was great and prices not bad. The service was also good. Would recommend.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LeonM920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don, Owner at Chim Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2021

Thank you for the great review, much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2021

My taste buds are like so satisfied right now..

Super quick service, friendly staff. Thank-you ChimThai. :)

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank waikatomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don, Owner at Chim Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2021

Awesome, what a fantastic headline and wonderful review, thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chim Thai also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Chim Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.