We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Thai Food”
Review of Chim Thai

Chim Thai
Ranked #7 of 428 Restaurants in Hamilton
Price range: US$9 - US$20
Description: Welcome to Chim Thai! "Chim" in Thai means to taste. We take pride in our cuisine and its presentation.We believe in serving food that is good quality and made of the freshest ingredients. We are an authentic Thai restaurant located in Rototuna, Hamilton. Tease your taste buds with hot, sour, sweet and salty Thai cuisine with aromatic herbs and spices.
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to Chim Thai! "Chim" in Thai means to taste. We take pride in our cuisine and its presentation.We believe in serving food that is good quality and made of the freshest ingredients. We are an authentic Thai restaurant located in Rototuna, Hamilton. Tease your taste buds with hot, sour, sweet and salty Thai cuisine with aromatic herbs and spices.
Reviewed 24 November 2020

We decided to have Thai on Saturday night and after looking at reviews, decided to give Chim Thai a try. Was fully booked but they managed to squeeze us in as long as we were out by 6.30pm. Saw about 8 takeaway meals going out in the 50 minutes we were there so figured the reviews were spot on. Had a couple of Tapas dishes and two mains to share between the 3 of us. Each one beautifully presented and full of flavour. The Pad Thai presentation was awesome (I wont give away too many details) and whilst looking small when it first arrived, the basket was bigger than it looked and there was plenty to go round. Next time we'll be trying the Duck dish too as this looked amazing when it came out for others who were dining. Could not fault the service - all staff very friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and tidy and the food was first rate.

Date of visit: November 2020
1  Thank petermJ8070GU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
don45south, Owner at Chim Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2020

Thank you very much for your awesome review about our food, service and presentation and thank you for taking the time to give such great feed back. It is very humbling to read a review such as yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2020 via mobile

Every time I come in for a meal etc at Chin Thai I truly appreciate the meals which are freshly cooked and served. Along with having drinks and or entrees before the main meal. I regard Chim Thai a warmth hospitality restaurant to worthwhile spending time there.

Date of visit: November 2020
1  Thank theNZRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
don45south, Owner at Chim Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2020

Thank you Robert for your kind review which we really appreciate just as we appreciate your loyal patronage. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2020

My husband and I dined here with our 2 friends for a birthday celebration, and overall it was excellent. The food was so flavoursome and definitely your money’s worth. The food was brought out very quick too, which was a bonus. The staff were always smiling, made sure we were comfortable, very well mannered and catered to our needs. Glad we decided to dine here, we will be sure to come back again soon.

Date of visit: September 2020
1  Thank Spicegirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
don45south, Owner at Chim Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2020

Thank you very much for your great review and we are thrilled you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2020 via mobile

This food was the worst ever. Thai food is supposed to be flavoursome....this was flavourless! Had the same dish at numerous Thai places so was extremely disappointed that I couldn't even eat half of it. My husband had a different dish and his was bland also. Don't waste your money here, would never go back! Utter rubbish

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
don45south, Owner at Chim Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2020

Hi Julie W.,
We are sorry you did not like your meal and we are sorry that you did not complain to our staff at the time. This seems unusual. You say you were "extremely disappointed" but you said nothing. Instead you have written a hostile and savage review. Chim Thai has garnered many wonderful reviews over time. I see you make no mention of what dishes both you and your husband actually ordered. I have seen some of your other contributions to Trip Advisor. Here are a few of your headlines: "Totally Grim", "Tasteless" (About another Thai Restaurant) "Absolutely Disgusting Place", "Not Great" , "Terrible". You even bagged the Te Awamutu Rose Gardens. It seems Julie W. you are a serial bad reviewer, you have come from Port Douglas, Australia and I am sure the restaurants there were pleased to see the back you. If you find eating out so bad perhaps you should cook at home rather than subjecting restaurants to your abusive reviews!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2020

Us southerners do not visit Hamilton North that much but we were here and it was dinner time. No reservations and the place was busy, but they fitted us in. Service was very quick and well done. Food portions were value for money and tasted great. A bit different than the normal kiwi Thai but very good. Will come again

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank cockies2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
don45south, Owner at Chim Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2020

Thank you southerners for your great review, we appreciate you taking the time to give your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chim Thai also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Chim Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.