We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Good!”
Review of Chim Thai

Chim Thai
Ranked #4 of 430 Restaurants in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$23
Description: We are closed ANZAC DAY (​25th April). Welcome to Chim Thai! "Chim" in Thai means to taste. We take pride in our cuisine and its presentation.We believe in serving food that is good quality and made of the freshest ingredients. We are an authentic Thai restaurant located in Rototuna, Hamilton. Tease your taste buds with hot, sour, sweet and salty Thai cuisine with aromatic herbs and spices.
Restaurant details
Description: We are closed ANZAC DAY (​25th April). Welcome to Chim Thai! "Chim" in Thai means to taste. We take pride in our cuisine and its presentation.We believe in serving food that is good quality and made of the freshest ingredients. We are an authentic Thai restaurant located in Rototuna, Hamilton. Tease your taste buds with hot, sour, sweet and salty Thai cuisine with aromatic herbs and spices.
Reviewed 25 October 2020

My husband and I dined here with our 2 friends for a birthday celebration, and overall it was excellent. The food was so flavoursome and definitely your money’s worth. The food was brought out very quick too, which was a bonus. The staff were always smiling, made sure we were comfortable, very well mannered and catered to our needs. Glad we decided to dine here, we will be sure to come back again soon.

Date of visit: September 2020
1  Thank Spicegirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don45south, Owner at Chim Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2020

Thank you very much for your great review and we are thrilled you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2020 via mobile

This food was the worst ever. Thai food is supposed to be flavoursome....this was flavourless! Had the same dish at numerous Thai places so was extremely disappointed that I couldn't even eat half of it. My husband had a different dish and his was bland also. Don't waste your money here, would never go back! Utter rubbish

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don45south, Owner at Chim Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2020

Hi Julie W.,
We are sorry you did not like your meal and we are sorry that you did not complain to our staff at the time. This seems unusual. You say you were "extremely disappointed" but you said nothing. Instead you have written a hostile and savage review. Chim Thai has garnered many wonderful reviews over time. I see you make no mention of what dishes both you and your husband actually ordered. I have seen some of your other contributions to Trip Advisor. Here are a few of your headlines: "Totally Grim", "Tasteless" (About another Thai Restaurant) "Absolutely Disgusting Place", "Not Great" , "Terrible". You even bagged the Te Awamutu Rose Gardens. It seems Julie W. you are a serial bad reviewer, you have come from Port Douglas, Australia and I am sure the restaurants there were pleased to see the back you. If you find eating out so bad perhaps you should cook at home rather than subjecting restaurants to your abusive reviews!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2020

Us southerners do not visit Hamilton North that much but we were here and it was dinner time. No reservations and the place was busy, but they fitted us in. Service was very quick and well done. Food portions were value for money and tasted great. A bit different than the normal kiwi Thai but very good. Will come again

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank cockies2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don45south, Owner at Chim Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2020

Thank you southerners for your great review, we appreciate you taking the time to give your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2020

We were finally able to introduce our non-Rototuna based friends to the Chim Thai experience. Going in a group means you get to try lots of different dishes and they are all super fresh and super tasty. We love that their meat is free range, the service is always excellent and we have never been disappointed. Our friends are now converts too.

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don45south, Owner at Chim Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2020

Thank you for the great review and thanks for introducing your friends to our restaurant.
We really appreciate your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2020

Good family gatherings. The food was delicious. The atmosphere is great for dining. The restaurant has high chair for kids.

Date of visit: September 2020
1  Thank OraparnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don45south, Owner at Chim Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2020

You are most welcome and we appreciate receiving a great review. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chim Thai also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Chim Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.