We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Chim Thai

Chim Thai
Ranked #7 of 428 Restaurants in Hamilton
Price range: US$9 - US$20
Description: Welcome to Chim Thai! "Chim" in Thai means to taste. We take pride in our cuisine and its presentation.We believe in serving food that is good quality and made of the freshest ingredients. We are an authentic Thai restaurant located in Rototuna, Hamilton. Tease your taste buds with hot, sour, sweet and salty Thai cuisine with aromatic herbs and spices.
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to Chim Thai! "Chim" in Thai means to taste. We take pride in our cuisine and its presentation.We believe in serving food that is good quality and made of the freshest ingredients. We are an authentic Thai restaurant located in Rototuna, Hamilton. Tease your taste buds with hot, sour, sweet and salty Thai cuisine with aromatic herbs and spices.
Reviewed 20 January 2020

We celebrated a birthday here last night and it was fabulous! Delicious food,very hard to choose from the menu! Even with a couple of our group having particular food requirements. Lovely friendly service......very hospitable. We shall return!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank alliward884
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
don45south, Owner at Chim Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2020

Thank you for the great review which is really appreciated. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2020

Food was once again delicious. We’re in a much bigger group of diners this time and found the service OK but not great. Food came out at irregular intervals. Some of us eating, others still waiting . The same for entree and mains. Waiting staff had no idea who had ordered what. Unopened bottles of wine just plonked on the table with glasses. Expected a bit more given the price.
This won’t stop us going back as the food makes up for everything.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 65super
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
don45south, Owner at Chim Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2020

Thank you for the compliment upon our food. We are sorry about the service issues, we were much more busy than expected when we reopened after the break. This has been raised with the staff concerned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2020

Chim Thai is hidden away in Rototuna, Hamilton but its well worth finding it. Four of celebrated a birthday with some superb dining. You have trouble selecting as there are many wonderful dishes but i had the sizzling seafood selection(mild not hot) and it was outstanding. Really great service and friendly staff and you have to book to ensure getting in as the reputation of this place is growing.
My first choice in Hamilton for Thai food.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Steverowe54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
don45south, Manager at Chim Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2020

Thank you for the great review Steve, glad you are not keeping us a secret. All the best for 2020.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2019

Meals were exquisite. We got a series of tapa meals between 6 of us. They were all tasty and filling.
The wine was reasonably priced, so the whole night out was great value for money.
Ambience was good, even though the place was sold out. Didn't appear to be noisy or stuffy. Great night out had by all.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
don45south, Owner at Chim Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2019

Thanks for the great review Grant, we really appreciate the feedback. We are so lucky to have great team in the Kitchen that can create those tasty tapas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2019

A big thank you to Noi,Ella,Don and staff for the excellent food and service you gave us for our staff Christmas party at your restaurant last night.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Travel579301
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
don45south, Owner at Chim Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2019

Thanks for the feedback, much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chim Thai also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Chim Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.