We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
17
24
31
38
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
17
24
31
38
83
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2020

Trust your gut instinct !!. Got a certain vibe straight away when parking our vehicle outside our room, it was like rats peering out from every room when a new vehicle arrives ??. Unpacked, stepped outside for a drink and a smoke, door was open next door, smell of mince cooking next door, no worries, then a male voice "gonna get high", WTF, nek minute, some bludger comes up to me wanting a smoke & he was high as a kite, and then we seen some dude "blazing on his meth pipe in his car". A couple drove in with a couple of young kids in their car, I told them straight up "go somewhere else, its not safe here", they left. Like an infomercial, but wait there''s more, went to have a shower before going out for dinner, no hot water, that's it, we are gone. The receptionist was useless, but eventually got our money back. NEVER AGAIN !!!

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phillip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2020 via mobile

Reception staff lovely and very welcoming. We were given a free upgrade which was a nice surprise. Place is lovely and clean spacious and awesome air conditioning unit as it was a very hot day when we arrived. Totally recommend the Grosvenor to anyone visiting whether for the rugby as stadium within walking distance along with large supermarket and a very nice eatery.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank wtafiregirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2020 via mobile

I picked the Grosvenor motel in Hamilton as it was reasonably priced an close to the city centre. It is within walking distance of Speights Ale House and supermarkets. Ask for a downstairs room if you have a lot of luggage. Staff were friendly at check in and check out. Rooms were clean. Free wifi. I would stay there again.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Pete_Mish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 February 2020

We checked in at 630pm for a work trip. We checked out at 1030pm. We stayed in room 7, the Bathroom has clearly been updated recently but not well, huge marks on the wall, holes in the wall in the bedroom we couldn't get any sleep as the people staying upstairs were super noisy! when we checked out I told the receptionist about the noise but maybe she doesnt speak english as she just gave me a blank look, so I emailed the place and havent heard a single thing back. I 100% expected at least a partial refund. Atrocious.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank WinesieTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 January 2020 via mobile

Where to begin, the whole place is tired and needs up dating.
There are permanent tenants there from Housing NZ so lots of noise, unsupervised children running around.
The swimming pool is very unsafe, the ladder into the pool is broken( not recent by amount of rust around), this is the only way to get in and out of fairly deep pool, broken whole time we were there, four days. If a child or adult could not push themselves out of the pool they were stuck in there.
Signs say not smoking in units but everyone smokes just outside others doors and you can’t have door or windows open as the smoke just comes into the unit.
The unit we stayed in with 2 bedrooms had an updated bathroom but it was very dangerous, large step up in to shower which had a very slippery floor with not mat. There were no shelves in shower to put things on so putting toiletries on floor in shower increased risk of fall. Then the large step to get out of the shower again a falls risk, my mum didn’t shower after 2nd day as to afraid of falling.
We stayed over Christmas time, at $200 a night excepted at least clean towels on Christmas Day, when asked about this got told it’s Christmas day so no service. Have stayed regularly in motels in NZ over Christmas and always been told about service plans for the day and offered free towels. The receptionist said you should have been told this when booking in, I replied you booked us in, there was no reply from her.
When room serviced on Boxing Day, beds not made properly just roughly pulled up, no sign of cleaning in bathroom, kitchen not cleaned, dirty dishes left.
We should have read the reviews about this place before booking, lesson learnt for next time.
Would not recommend this place to anyone , appears owners only increased in making money not giving people a good experience.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sue2560
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews