We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$242
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 Jun
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Expedia.com
$225
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
ann
Auckland, New Zealand

Very good motel everything you could as for.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Mar 2024via mobile
Spacious room. Kitchen facilities very good. Big bathroom. Comfy bed. Quiet. Well located. Nice host. Clean. Couch and table anchors chairs. Electric blanket. Could park right outside unit.i can’t think of anything else.this must be 200 words haha.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$230
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $230
1.4 km from White Heron Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Affordable Luxury at Motel Oasis
Booking.com
$276
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $271
  • ZenHotels.com
    $249
  • Expedia.com
    $276
4.9 km from White Heron Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
HCPHGBedroom Deluxe Bed
Booking.com
$219
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $215
  • Hotels.com
    $219
1.9 km from White Heron Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
Booking.com
$176
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $176
  • Expedia.com
    $176
  • Tripadvisor
    $176
1.4 km from White Heron Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Gisborne Hotel Pool
Expedia.com
$199
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $199
  • Agoda.com
    $172
  • ZenHotels.com
    $199
1.6 km from White Heron Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    $180
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $180
1.1 km from White Heron Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
Booking.com
$182
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $182
  • Vio.com
6.0 km from White Heron Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$115
  • Agoda.com
13.1 km from White Heron Motor Lodge
Booking.com
$110
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
71.5 km from White Heron Motor Lodge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $150
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
11.5 km from White Heron Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Gisborne
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
19
7
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
19
7
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews motor lodge comfy bed the main road herons lynn units motel host
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2023 via mobile

What a lovely motel, the units were clean and spacious . The beds were comfortable , we had a great sleep. It was very quiet at night. The host was lovely. Everything was of a very high standard. Would definitely stay here again. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 156angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2022

Lovely motel unit which was spotless and clean. Great cooking facilities and comfy bed. Lovely staff at reception. Would recommend to people. Handy to shops and restaurants if you want to eat out.

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WendyMcP01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2022

We spent three nights in Gisborne in late April (to watch the rocket launch at Mahia but that’s another story). I chose White Heron Motor Lodge after looking at the reviews here.

I phoned and the booking process was very simple. Very friendly and helpful service from Cheryl Lynn. We got a discount for booking directly by phone, thank you.

We arrived around 3pm and checked in. It’s very easy to find on the main road in from the Waioeka Gorge/SH2 road.

It’s a very nice motel. Good parking right outside the room, and all rooms are ground floor.

We were in Unit 23, a studio. It was spacious and had a King sized bed (we sleep in a King at home and don’t like anything smaller as we’re used to having the space). The unit was very clean and modern. A spacious bathroom as well.

On our first night there wasn’t a lot of wind but early evening it was gusty enough to somehow blow down some of the wooden and corrugated iron fence outside our bathroom window. It was making quite a noise flopping around in the wind so we rang the office, and in very short order Huey/Hughie was out there with his tools and took the damaged part of the fence away so that it was nice and quiet again. Many thanks for sorting this out for us so quickly and efficiently.

Any gripes? None of any note. There is, as others have noted, no towel rail in the bathroom. However the towels are in the cupboard under the handbasin, and who of us reuses their towels? To be honest, I never do, I like to have a nice clean fluffy towel each day so it’s not a biggie to not have a towel rail.

There is no phone in the room but to be honest, how many people use a phone? I do occasionally but I can just as easily use my mobile. I guess if you don’t have a mobile it might be an issue but the offer is there in the room compendium to contact the office if you need a phone. I imagine it’s quite expensive to have phones and landlines in each room, so I’m quite happy to lower the cost for the motel owner/manager by using my mobile if/when needed.

We would definitely stay here next time we’re in Gisborne. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 December 2021

What a wonderful clean up to date motel run by awesome proprieters Truly a credit to Cherry Lynne and her husband..As a frequent traveller I class this Motel as one of the best and would recommend it to anyone without hesitation.Thankyou for the enjoyable stay

Wiremu and Fleur

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ACCOM_CRTIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2021 via mobile

I would give this motel more than 5 stars if I could! We stayed here a few years ago and were obvioulsy impressed enough to return, but since then it has been completely renovated and really is excellent. Our unit was very spacious and confortable and the hosts were extremely obliging and helpful.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews