We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$219
Priceline
$219
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
$215
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Tony P
Norwich, United Kingdom
Convenient and comfortable
Review of Portside Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Jan 2023via mobile
A very comfortable hotel with great staff. The room had cooking facilities which was excellent as there is no restaurant. Good laundry (free) facilities too which we used. Didn’t get to the cardio room though.
Easy walking distance to the town centre and a selection of eateries.
Car park is small and returning later in the evening was challenging
Breakfast is poor and better to go out or do your own
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
$258
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    $236
  • Hotels.com
    $260
  • Tripadvisor
    $236
0.7 km from Portside Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
$250
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $250
  • Vio.com
    $250
  • eDreams
    $250
1.1 km from Portside Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$276
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $230
  • Expedia.com
    $237
  • Priceline
    $276
3.1 km from Portside Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Gisborne Hotel Pool
Expedia.com
$199
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $199
  • Agoda.com
    $173
  • Vio.com
    $180
0.5 km from Portside Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Separate Bedroom with Super King Bed
Booking.com
$210
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $210
  • Vio.com
    $206
  • Hotels.com
    $209
1.9 km from Portside Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$178
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $178
  • Expedia.com
    $178
  • Priceline
    $178
2.1 km from Portside Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
Booking.com
$182
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $182
  • eDreams
    $182
  • Vio.com
    $182
4.2 km from Portside Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Beachfront View
Booking.com
$150
  • Priceline
    $150
  • Vio.com
    $150
  • eDreams
    $150
10.7 km from Portside Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$115
  • Agoda.com
12.8 km from Portside Hotel
Booking.com
$120
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Vio.com
    $120
  • Trip.com
72.5 km from Portside Hotel
View more hotels in Gisborne
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveller rating
143
131
42
22
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
143
131
42
22
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washing machine and dryer the river one bedroom apartment full kitchen reception staff cooking facilities close to town spa bath tv laundry motel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 341 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2023

I stayed at this property for one night while travelling en route. I stayed at one of the more basic room types with a view towards the river. I arrived at night in winter and found the bright, well-appointed hotel car park and lobby very assuring.

The room was relatively small but decently furnished and properly maintained. The staff at the front desk was pleasant and efficient to deal with, and they gave good recommendations on local dining options available during that long weekend.

I will consider staying at the property again if I visit Gisborne in the future.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KeepDiscovering
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 July 2022 via mobile

We stayed here in an apartment booked privately and not through Heritage. We loved it. V quiet and we had a view out onto the port and river which was fun watching the fishing boats coming and going. Room was very nicely appointed with everything you could want including Netflix. Close to town and on the coastal walkway down to the beach. Great place and recommended.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WilkinsonFamily893
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2022 via mobile

A great hotel in a great location.
It was not cheap per night, room was large, and very comfortable, especially the bed but sadly not on the harbour side. It was just perfect as we had been travelling for a few days, and to discover the one bedroom apartment type room had a washing machine and dryer, a full kitchen with a full fridge, dish draw dishwasher, it was a pleasant surprise.
The only fault was the shower was over a spa bath, so not easy to get in and out of.
The housekeeping people were so lovely and very, very helpful, however the reception staff were not so helpful, given they have front of house roles they need to up their game to be considerably more friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KarenB499
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2022 via mobile

The shower needs to be replaced immediately it’s very old school. A big step to get in with no safety rail for support and the lever to change the water was stuck. The TV was tiny and looked silly on a huge wall. The decor was dated - I expected better for the price I paid.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tour47326185439
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2022 via mobile

In a word, meh. Clean, sure, and lovely pool, great location, but you pay top dollar here and get nothing special for your money. They should take a few bucks and a couple of days, watch Motel Makeover and try to find some inspiration to make this place special. The front desk staff made themselves weirdly scarce and the lobby smells like ciggies and disinfectant… what a first impression. If they’re aiming for apathetic as to whether guests have a good time or stay again, they’ve hit that mark. Perplexing in the current climate-door must be wide open for a competitor. Stay down the road at Tatapouri Bay instead for WOW factor.

Room tip: Honestly, if you can get in at Tatapouri Bay just stay there!
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews