We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$200
View deal
Booking.comUS$205
Hotels.comUS$238
PricelineUS$205
eDreamsUS$205
CheapTicketsUS$200
Orbitz.comUS$200
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
140
128
40
22
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
140
128
40
22
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river comfortable chairs full kitchen the ground floor separate bedroom close to town dishwasher parkside balcony tv interconnecting oven receptionist logs lounge channels proximity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Great rooms, mine was on the ground floor overlooking the wharf area. Warm with a full kitchen and excellent quality appliances. But after a seven hour drive I really didn't feel like going out to have a meal. A simple cafe would make this good hotel excellent.
Anyway stayed two nights and enjoyed the surroundings. For me a trip like this means no cooking. But it would have been nice to have toast and jam in the mornings for breakfast.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Dear Peter D,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your sojourn with us.

Although we do not have a Cafe on site, we are privileged to be surrounded by a number of great facilities within walking distance, who will gladly offer charge back to the hotel.

These facilities can be found in our compendium, and our staff is more than happy to recommend the right place for the occasion.

We also do offer continental breakfast which can be found in the compendium, ordered through our reception and delivered to the room. This offering includes items such as toasts and preserves, bagels, smoked salmon, ham, cream cheese, free range eggs, cereals, yogurts, and fruits.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Team at Portside Hotel Gisborne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed out time staying here, even with the power cut. Helpful staff with the personal touch evident several times over the weekend. A wee apology note and a couple of torches from the team were in our unit when we got back saturday afternoon, should the power go off again.

Room tip: Ask for a room (western end) over looking the harbour as it has the morning sun and the veiw.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Dear Pete D,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming back again in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,
The Team at Portside Hotel Gisborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

The hotel rooms and facilities are excellent, everything you want and great quality.
But I would think that when people are away from home, one of the most important things to have is a good bed with good bedding. Surely, that should be on the top of the list for getting it right for managers running a place to stay! The beds were so soft, that one of the singles, when you sat down your bottom felt the springs in the base and bent like a banana, like an old spring bed that was in bad condition. When you stood up, the bend in the mattress was still visible hours later. ... Can't tell me that this is the first time this has been pointed out. There was next to no blankets, just a tiny thin cover, no thicker than a mattress protector, and a tiny thin blanket in the cupboard... I think they expect you to just leave the heaters on all night long, which is kind of ok, unless you find heat pumps too stuffy or even worse, the power goes out....which it did...stormy cold weekend, no heating and no real blankets...excellent! Top Paying Dollar for fancy things, what are they thinking?
Apart from the beds, the place was great - clean, tidy, everything you want including a washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, good internet, heaters, comfy couches etc, staff were very helpful and friendly. They delivered torches for the second night of the storm incase the power was out again. Trolley to help you push your bags up to your rooms etc. If it had not been for the beds, this would be 5 Stars.

Room tip: Beds no good for bad backs, necks. Ask for a room with a view over the water and one on the top floor near the end of the building.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank yehudi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Dear Yehudi S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to hear that most aspects of your stay met your expectations and we have taken note of your comments with regards to the blankets.

We are also pleased to let you know that the last beds and mattresses to be upgraded on our maintenance schedule - these include the apartment you stayed in - were delivered to us today, and we look forward to welcoming you back for you to enjoy your stay in total comfort.

Kind regards,
The Team at Portside Hotel Gisborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and found the Hotel to be very clean and tidy. The service was very professional and friendly. The room facilities were great especially the washing machine and dryer. When travelling a lot this becomes a necessity, so to have this located in the room was a bonus. The 1 bedroom apartment was very spacious and had everything you need.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Glenys N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Dear Glenys N,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that our facilities and services met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Team at Portside Hotel Gisborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Well impressed with this hotel!
We arrived as a party of 4 to stay in a Penthouse Suite.
The room was HUGE - the biggest we have ever stayed in.
Clean, comfy and what a view!
The gym was tiny but who cares - we had so much to do in Gisborne that we got enough exercise walking everywhere.
The only negative I can say is that we were booked into a Penthouse and we weren't on the top floor at all. Probably a little misleading however in all - a great stay.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Dear Zane C,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor on your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your comments and we are glad our facilities and services met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Team at Portside Hotel Gisborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews